Overclock an amd a64 dual core 4200+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2007, 12:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Overclock an amd a64 dual core 4200+

I know how to overclock it but don't know what program to use. My mobo doesn't have a place in the bios to overclock the cpu. Its the 3rd computer in my signature.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 02:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: Overclock an amd a64 dual core 4200+

ClockGen
I am using that program with a few others but the problem is that the cpu speed goes up, FSB goes up, Ram, and Pci all go up together. I can't overclock the cpu as high. I was wondering if thats the program or just my motherboard?
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 03:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Overclock an amd a64 dual core 4200+

if your mobo doesn't have a place in the bios then you can't do it as it was not made for it.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 03:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: Overclock an amd a64 dual core 4200+

oh yeah well clockgen worked great. It won't hurt my computer will it? When I increase the clock I hear one of the fans speed up.

A list of overclocking programs to help people:

OverClocked inside - Redaktion ocinside.de PC hardware page
Norcent is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 03:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: Overclock an amd a64 dual core 4200+

thanx for all your help anyway. All my computers are finally overclocked. I just ran a tester thing and it finished with no errors so My 3rd computer in my sig should be fine.
Norcent is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 04:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: Overclock an amd a64 dual core 4200+

just 2 questions for you guys. 3rd computer in Sig.

1. If I get the blue screen of death could that be, because I am overclocking too much?

2. Will my computer shut down/ restart if the temps get to hot?
Norcent is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 06:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Overclock an amd a64 dual core 4200+

After a quick Google search, it appears that you can over clock through the BIOS on this board. You must have missed it.

To answer your two questions;

1: Yes.
2: It depends on what your shut-off temps are set to in the BIOS, and if you have it enabled.

Over clocking through Windows isn't a very good idea. For one, if you go too far, it's a PITA to fix it (if you have it set to automatically run on startup).

Plus, every time you restart your machine it is changing the clocks, and voltages by a sometimes large amount, which I'm sure is not good for it. Through the BIOS, it's always at one clock/voltage.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 07:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Overclock an amd a64 dual core 4200+

that mobo should have an option in the bios to increase the clock (fsb). although, from what i read, it does not allow you to increase the vcore. which is totally pointless and actually kind of dumb, especially for a board maker like asus.
doesnt it have AI overclocking also? if it does that would be much more preferable over windows overclocking.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 08:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: Overclock an amd a64 dual core 4200+

All I saw that I could change was the multiplyer from Auto to x1, x2, x3, x3, x4, x5

I guess i will have to check again and get back to you guys tomorrow cause its getting close to bed time and I have to wake up at 4:00 A.M. to go to work.
Norcent is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 03:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: Overclock an amd a64 dual core 4200+

Thank you guys I just figured it out but can only get to 215 FPS and can't get any further. Is that all I have to change is the Fps or do I have to change the multiplyer?
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Core 2 Duo Extremes odd..... veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-30-2007 03:34 PM
Dual core vs SLI in gaming laptop brother2angel New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-11-2007 07:41 PM
Vista & Dual Core CPU Problem Alvin.C Microsoft Windows and Software 7 04-08-2007 07:45 AM
Core 2 Duo (Dual Core Settings) Nechen New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-06-2007 11:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.