Over clocked Q6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2012, 11:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Over clocked Q6600

So, the guy i got this pc off has the Q6600 overclocked to 3ghz.

My pc seems to lag, and everything just freezes, but then unfreezes.

Do you guys think it has a bad overclock or something?

When i cleaned the pc out, it went back to stock. I told the guy and he said it will bottleneck the GPU, if i dont re-overclock it?
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 12:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Over clocked Q6600

Even overclocked it is bottlenecking the GPU. You will need to make sure it is stable and if it isn't then you will need to apply more voltage.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 12:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Over clocked Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Even overclocked it is bottlenecking the GPU. You will need to make sure it is stable and if it isn't then you will need to apply more voltage.

See, ive never done OC'ing befor, so i dont know what to do, lol. He told me what to do by putting it back to 3ghz.

So, im kind of stuck!

What do you mean add more voltaged, to what the cpu?

He has told me to put it back to

Fsb - 333
Ratio - 9
CPU Voltage - 1.25
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 01:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Re: Over clocked Q6600

I previously had a Q6600 and it was bottlenecking even my 560 Ti. I'd just reset the CMOS on the board and everything will go back to stock.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 02:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Over clocked Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHumanComputer View Post
See, ive never done OC'ing befor, so i dont know what to do, lol. He told me what to do by putting it back to 3ghz.

So, im kind of stuck!

What do you mean add more voltaged, to what the cpu?

He has told me to put it back to

Fsb - 333
Ratio - 9
CPU Voltage - 1.25
I'm extremely tired so I can't really write up an essay here, but basically you need to go into the bios and set the settings he said there. Just raise CPU voltage up more than 1.25 to maybe 1.28 or 1.3.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 02:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Over clocked Q6600

Ah ok.

So i just need to put voltage to 1.3. Will it stop my pc from lagging/freezeing?

*EDIT*

Sorry, i should of said i have allready put these to the settings. And it still sometimes freezes/lags.
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 02:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Over clocked Q6600

Can't guarantee it will work or help, but worth a shot.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 02:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Over clocked Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Can't guarantee it will work or help, but worth a shot.
Ive changed it to 1.3, So just gotta see what happens now
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cpu being clocked at 790 mhz?? that70sdude Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-15-2011 07:26 PM
eVGA Super Clocked 8800gt SapperX Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 11 04-21-2009 07:01 AM
Is my processor clocked correct ? viper880 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 06-29-2007 01:03 PM
why does some ram get clocked 3 times? CntdwnToExtn Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 03-28-2005 01:06 AM
Is my Vid. Card not clocked right? pc_boy Overclocking and Modding 11 12-23-2004 04:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.