Over Clock AMD 3200+ 64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2006, 01:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 98
Smile Over Clock AMD 3200+ 64

Hey,
i was overclocking my AMD 3200+64 lastnight and why can i get it to over clock to or over 2.4GHz anything higher and it frezzes and becomes unstable i got a Gig of dual channle to and a Gigabyte MB anyone no what i can do 2 get it higher and stabler?
thanks.
__________________

AMD 3200+ 64 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 01:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 98
Default

Add on: i got no clue what ram timing are and all if sum 1 could explain that would be awesome
__________________

__________________
AMD 3700+ 64-Bit at 2.8ghz
Gigabyte K8 Triton Series nForce 4 SLI Motherboard
e-GeForce 8800GT 512mb
1GB DDR400 Hyper X
200+100+80GB HDD
19" Acer WideScreen LCD
AMD 3200+ 64 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 01:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 176
Default

RAM Timings For Dummies:
http://www.overclock.net/faqs/26706-...s-dummies.html

If you have ddr ram, set the ram voltage to 2.7-2.8v, if you have ddr2 set it to 2.1-2.2v. Set your cpu to 1.45v-1.50v. If you have ddr ram, set your timings to 3,4,4,10. If you have ddr2, set it to 5,6,6,16. Get to where you want overclocking wise, then slowly start decreasing your ram timing's and voltages till it goes unstable, then bump it back up a little.
StillwaterIT is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 02:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 98
Default

k so the lower the timming the faster and more stable it will be?
__________________
AMD 3700+ 64-Bit at 2.8ghz
Gigabyte K8 Triton Series nForce 4 SLI Motherboard
e-GeForce 8800GT 512mb
1GB DDR400 Hyper X
200+100+80GB HDD
19" Acer WideScreen LCD
AMD 3200+ 64 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 02:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 176
Default

The HIGHER the timing, the easier it is to overclock and the more stable it will be.
StillwaterIT is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 02:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 98
Default

ahhhhh ok ok so just keep bumpin it up and up ok cool
__________________
AMD 3700+ 64-Bit at 2.8ghz
Gigabyte K8 Triton Series nForce 4 SLI Motherboard
e-GeForce 8800GT 512mb
1GB DDR400 Hyper X
200+100+80GB HDD
19" Acer WideScreen LCD
AMD 3200+ 64 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 07:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

No.


You want it high so its stable and the memory wont create problems.
High is slow but stable. When you finally get where you want, the tighter the timings, the faster it is.
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.