Orthos testing for QuadCore? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2007, 09:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default Orthos testing for QuadCore?

is there an Orthos released that will work with the quadcores? if so.. what version?
__________________

__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Orthos testing for QuadCore?

At the moment, Orthos does not support four threads. You either have to run two instances of Orthos, or use Prime95. Which in my opinion, is better for quad core stressing.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: Orthos testing for QuadCore?

You are the man apl, I appreciate all the help you are giving me.. just to keep you updated im at 2628.18MHz @ 35 C

oh.. how long should I run Prime95 for and what should I be looking at if it is not stable?
__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Orthos testing for QuadCore?

Oh and when you run Prime95, get the latest version. I believe it's v25.13....and when you do run it, set the test to custom, and set the "memory to use" to 1024MB.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: Orthos testing for QuadCore?

ok.. thanks.. how long should I run it for?
__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Orthos testing for QuadCore?

ive been using Orthos, but im getting ready to make the switch to Prime95

heres the latest version i could find
Download Prime95 25.4 - A program designed to be used to find Mersenne Prime numbers. - Softpedia
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Orthos testing for QuadCore?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave39 View Post
ok.. thanks.. how long should I run it for?
At least 6 hours. But preferably 8-24 hours.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Orthos testing for QuadCore?

8 is the min i'd go

i had mine crash after approx 5.5hrs a couple of days ago.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: Orthos testing for QuadCore?

ok thanks guys.. will do that tonight then.. here is an issue tho.. my 3dmark06 score is lower now than it was before the OC?? what gives?
__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Orthos testing for QuadCore?

How much did it go decrease? Maybe the overclock is unstable? Run it like three times, and get the average.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Orthos to stress quad veedubfreak Overclocking and Modding 15 09-07-2007 02:21 PM
Orthos problem Pdawg Overclocking and Modding 2 08-29-2007 08:16 AM
OCing running and stress testing E6230@2.450GHz raiders_best Overclocking and Modding 20 05-22-2007 12:04 AM
Microsoft starts testing Office 2008 for Mac Osiris Apple and Mac 1 04-25-2007 01:31 PM
Interested in testing the next version of Windows Media Center? Now's your chance. Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-19-2007 08:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.