Orthos to stress quad - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2007, 10:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default Re: Orthos to stress quad

Yeah that's true. It's rated to go up to 72 and I've seen people running em up there so it just depends on where you're comfortable.
__________________

__________________

3dMark06 = 13,687
Futuremark - ORB - Project Comparison
Antec 900 (Modded)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.3GHz (8multi x 413FSB; 1.3375v)
Asus P5K Deluxe
Tuniq Tower 120 (Lapped)
XFX 8800GTS @ 703/1,008 (ATItool)
2G Corsair XMS2 DDR2-826 2T 4-4-4-12
Seagate 7200.10 320G
LiteOn 20x DL DVD-Rw
Acbel 607W
Windows XP Pro 32bit
Pdawg is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 10:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Orthos to stress quad

I would prefer it to be under 60C. But I know one of my friends, who have the Q6600 G0, run their's at 70C, daily.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 10:42 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Orthos to stress quad

Well the machine rebooted itself while running dual orthos so i bumped the voltage to 1.35 and when it booted up it had disabled all my overclocking so i gave up and went to bed. I guess i'll just go back to 3.2 where i know its stable at under 60C and wait until the weather cools off or i actually need the extra 400mhz.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 12:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Orthos to stress quad

what you have to do is set the affinity in one instance to Core 0 and 2..and the other for Core 1 and 3

then start them both, and make sure you are getting 100% load.


thats the only way Orthos would stress all 4 cores on my system
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 12:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Orthos to stress quad

Ya thats what i was doing, but for some reason cores 0 and 1 always instantly fail in orthos and 2 and 3 keep going fine. Doesn't matter how much voltage i give it, cores 0 and 1 always fail. Ah well it runs world of warcraft and bioshock at 3.6 w/ 1.325v so i figure thats stable enough for me
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 02:21 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Orthos to stress quad

im at 3.0 on 1.2275 stable for 4hours

enough to give me a 13790 3d06
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD undergoes massive internal shift n Quad SLI looks like it's dead in the water Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-31-2007 01:46 AM
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 03:45 PM
Q About CPU Stress and Lifetime with Overclocking Cunjo Overclocking and Modding 7 07-10-2007 09:28 PM
quad cores N1gh7 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-06-2007 06:40 PM
Question about quad core.. PanzerKammander New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-08-2007 12:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.