Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2010, 12:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Not totally true, dirk. If you're a noob at overclocking, you would rather buy the pre-oced one.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 04:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelm3103 View Post
Now you can boast with your OC speeds, without having to worry if it's gonna die out on you or kill you boards .
But I like the smell of burnt electronics
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 04:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
But I like the smell of burnt electronics
Lol well it's not for you! Then again you're pr0 at OCing with the guide and stuff .
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 05:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Not totally true, dirk. If you're a noob at overclocking, you would rather buy the pre-oced one.
But is the 25-50mhz worth another $30? You wouldn't even notice it, which is why overclocked gpus are a waste of money IMO, unless its the only version you can buy.
__________________
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 05:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
oh shibbly!!!!! that's a monster!
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 06:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default Re: Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Wow any one else notice the crazy voltage on that 6.1Ghz overclock? 1.84v!
__________________

- Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz 1.33v -
- G.Skill 4Gb DDR2 @ 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15 -
- XFX 5850 @ Stock -
- Gigabtye GA-G33M-DS2R -
- Intel X-25V 40Gb Solid State -
- Corsair 520HX 520Watts -
- Cooler Master CM690 -
El_Roberto is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 09:02 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Some of the overclocked stuff usually does end up being the same or similar price to reference stuff, because people tend to not touch them because of high prices.

However, the overclocked ones (sometimes) have the tendency to have more potential than the other ones. (I guess those are nitpicked ones?)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't load XP pro with Core 2 duo e6750 mtslegacy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-14-2007 01:57 AM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
My friends keeps telling me AMD X2 is faster than Core 2 pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-23-2007 11:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.