Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2010, 10:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

"If having the fastest 'stock' desktop processors in the newly released Intel Core i7-980X 'Gulftown' isn't good enough for you, then perhaps gaming PC maker Origin PC has the answer for you.

While an additional $895 will buy for your Origin Genesis PC a regular 3.33 GHz Core i7-980X, forking over a full $1,044 will unleash the full beast overclocked to 4.3 GHz. If you've ever wanted to boast that your six-cores runs a gigahertz faster than those "other guys" at stock speeds, this could be what you're looking for."




Now you can boast with your OC speeds, without having to worry if it's gonna die out on you or kill you boards .
__________________

__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 10:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Pay $150 for them to have the fun of OCing my cpu. No way.

oooh they use AS5. Never mind. They are the King
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 10:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Core i7 980x @ 6.1+ Ghz

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 10:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post

oooh they use AS5. Never mind. They are the King
Teehee

__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 10:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Nice ...but isn't that manually OCing? What's better manually OCing (like buying stock, your gear and OC) or buying it already OC'ed ...OR buying it already OC'ed and then OCing more .
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 11:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Cpu's are always manually overclocked. Usually with bios but sometimes (not recommended) by software.
When the bios is reset, cpu moved or if oced by software and windows is reinstalled the oc will be gone.

They have just done the work in bios for you.

Graphic cards can be oc by the manufacturer via firmware. These will keep their speeds.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 11:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
Cpu's are always manually overclocked. Usually with bios but sometimes (not recommended) by software.
When the bios is reset, cpu moved or if oced by software and windows is reinstalled the oc will be gone.

They have just done the work in bios for you.

Graphic cards can be oc by the manufacturer via firmware. These will keep their speeds.
Ah okie ...and buying a GPU OC'ed is good though or it has it's disadvantages?
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 11:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Depends upon the extra cost. I would generally prefer to throw my own after market heatsink and OC it myself. Sometimes they will have a better than stock heatsink and be close to the reference card's cost. in that case they can be nice deals.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 11:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
Depends upon the extra cost. I would generally prefer to throw my own after market heatsink and OC it myself. Sometimes they will have a better than stock heatsink and be close to the reference card's cost. in that case they can be nice deals.
I'll keep that in mind, thanks for the info .
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 12:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Origin PC Overclocks 6-Core i7-980X to 4.3GHz

Don't buy overclocked stuff, such a waste of money. All they do increase the mutli or move a slider for gpus. Stuff you can do in 2 mins as well, not like there's a lot of risk. Long as you don't increase voltages by a lot you can't really do much un-fixable damage.
__________________

__________________
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't load XP pro with Core 2 duo e6750 mtslegacy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-14-2007 01:57 AM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
My friends keeps telling me AMD X2 is faster than Core 2 pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-23-2007 11:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.