opty 170 question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2006, 05:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default opty 170 question

so, to get the right stepping for an opteron 170,its just luck right? Like you cant request the specific stepping from newegg or something, u just get what u order and can't do anything about it?
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 05:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

It depends I believe, because old steppings aren't manufactured anymore only the newest ones (naturaly..) but you might get an older stepping since their stocks aren't over yet and they might be randomly choosing what to send to the costumer, but I guess you could try and ask newegg for a specific stepping...
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 06:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

If you look on different forums you can find people that buy CPUs to find good steppings and overclock them to see how far they go. Then they will sell it to whoever will pay for them.
turtile is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 08:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

Actually the new 06 Opterons are doing very well. You can always go to flickerdown or tankguys and get a good stepping, but it will cost you more.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 08:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: opty 170 question

Quote:
Originally posted by R1C0CH3T
so, to get the right stepping for an opteron 170,its just luck right? Like you cant request the specific stepping from newegg or something, u just get what u order and can't do anything about it?
from the classifieds it seems as if you were interested in pzero's opty.

And if I've been following things correctly that was WTK_pro's opty...and he managed to get it to 2.7 or 2.7+ on air...don't remember exactly.

So...if that's what you are thinkin about i'd go ahead with it. Seems like a good stepping to me even though I've never really heard of it.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 12:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

ive found some goodies on ebay, might also look there.
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.