opty 165 lvl1 cache changed from 64k to 128k?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2006, 06:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 151
Default opty 165 lvl1 cache changed from 64k to 128k??

why is it that after i purchased my opteron 165 it's level 1 cashe from newegg.com's display changed from the original 64kX2 to 128kX2 as of this link
maybe because it's stepping changed? and it's a demark core instead of mine toledo core, what whould be the difference?
will the speed significantly changed and how about the overclockability? and why does it changed? thanks
__________________

gohand is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 06:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Opteron 165 is a great CPU, and when u look at Cache you wanna check the L2 Cache.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 06:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 151
Default

yes it's L2 stays the same, but i was just wondering if the L1 does any speed difference when it's doubled the size?
gohand is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 07:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

1) toledo is not made for opterons... only denmark.
2) both toledo and denmark have 128kb L1 cache for each core

it was probably just misprinted before... check cpu-z to make sure.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 03:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 151
Default

yes that result was from my CPU-z check this thread where i have my cpu-z result posted http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...171#post801171
gohand is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 06:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

im guessing you have to combine the L1 code and L1 Data together to get your L1 cache. that seems like the most logical thing.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 09:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 151
Default

what does that mean? can you explain it a bit clearer? sorry i am a newb does that mean cpu-z had displayed the wrong result that it's not a toledo core but a demark core? and does the L1 size matters with it's performance? thanks.
gohand is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 09:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

cpu-z might have made an error with the cores i dont know, but where you L1 code 64 Kbytes and L1 data 64 Kbytes. i think you just combine those to get your total L1 cache. i know L2 cache matters in performance, but not sure about the L1. im sure it matters, i just dont know how much it matters.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 10:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aliasaid
1) toledo is not made for opterons... only denmark.
2) both toledo and denmark have 128kb L1 cache for each core

it was probably just misprinted before... check cpu-z to make sure.
and still is it a demark core or toledo core ?
gohand is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 11:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

its denmark, L1 isnt as important so dont worry too much about it ,its still a great cpu
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.