Optimum System Performance ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delboy :)

Baseband Member
Hey guys, im a newbie to this site.

I was wondering if any1 could kindly help me about how I would go about optimising my laptop to run at its optimum performance. Its an Intel Celeron ( yes, I know not the greatest! ) 2.8Ghz and I have 192mb RAM and a 64mb ATi Radeon Mobility. I dont know much about overclocking or optimising system performance.

I heard about overclocking processor speeds via software and that you can do it without getting ya hands dirty but im not sure whether thats possible or not.

I would also like to know how I can add RAM to my laptop because a software called EVEREST tells me how much I have ( 192 ) and how much I can expand it to ( 1GB ).

If any1 could give me any tips on how to make your system run amazing, please let me know.

Your help and expense of time would be highly appriciated!!

Thanks once again,
Delboy

P.S. Im sorry if I make no sense!!

if i knew i would let you know.. i know absolutely nothing about laptops. you probably wont get a response for a while cause it doesnt seem like many people are here.

Welcome to Tech Forums!

As for your question, you can download a program called CPUCooL and overclock your processor with that and monitor memory, CPU time, and tempuratures all with one program. As for overclocking your video card...well I only know how to overclock an nVidia, sorry!

-Dan The Man

You can do a few things to optimize your performance on that laptop.

The good thing is that most of these steps can apply to a desktop, this will make it easier for you to keep these small yet simple steps in mind whenever you might need them.

The first thing you can do is defragment your drive. Contrary to popular belief, an NTFS drive can get very fragmented and thus lower your performance. Windows XP has a utility called Defrag locaged in Start>Programs>Accessories>System Tools.

It will take a few minutes so try it overnight.