Operation SuperPi - Phase-Change - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2009, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Operation SuperPi - Phase-Change

For this project I'll be temporarily hooking up my Phase-Change to my Gaming PC. http://www.techist.com/forums/f10/sl...s-saga-200179/
I'll take some new pictures this weekend as I've already changed a few things. Here are my present specifications.
i7 920 D stepping
EVGA X58 SLI E758-A1
OCZ Blade Series 3x2GB DDR3 2000 PC3 16000
2 x EVGA GTX 280 w/ Arctic Cooling Accelero XTREME GTX 280 Coolers
Cooler Master 1250 watt Real Power Pro


And my best SuperPi time using Air Cooling.


In these 1st two pictures we see my old Phase-Change running at a chilly -55dC +/- a little.




Condensation is the danger with a setup like this so I've got a supply of Neoprene to make make some gaskets.


And I have some Conformal Coating to paint the Mobo with and I have some Dielectric Grease for the CPU Socket.


And I've created a template of the EVGA X58 Socket Area to help me make my Gaskets.




Right now I'm waiting on a 2-5/8" Hole Saw to arrive so I can make a new Retention Plate for the Cooling Head. As you can see in this picture the existing plate just isn't quite big enough to drill some new holes in it to match the mobo holes.


Here's the template I made for the new Retention Plate.


So that's were I'm at so far with this project. The Hole Saw should be here in the next day or 2 so I'm hoping to make a few SuperPi runs by the weekend.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-14-2009, 06:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Operation SuperPi - Phase-Change

Cool, only thing I don't understand is that paste you are going to put on the motherboard. If you put that on there, how are you going to get it off?
__________________

__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 07-14-2009, 06:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Operation SuperPi - Phase-Change

It not actually a paste, it's a silicon-base coating and it will be permanent. It's usually used in Marine Applications but it won't hurt anything so long as I don't get any of it on heat sensitive chips/components.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-14-2009, 06:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Operation SuperPi - Phase-Change

mmm, this should be interesting. how much farther you think you can push your chip?

btw, thats a wallpaper you got there. lol
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 07-14-2009, 06:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Operation SuperPi - Phase-Change

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burninator View Post
btw, thats a wallpaper you got there. lol
I got that wallpaper here, can't remember who posted it or where it was located but I can supply you with a copy



I'm hoping to get it up to 5GHz, but that may or may not happen
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-14-2009, 06:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 50
Default Re: Operation SuperPi - Phase-Change

Nice Slay....what is that PhaseChange tun'd for? How many watts? Do you know?

Your going to coat the whole MB? Why not just use rubber eraser method...that way if anything happens to the MB....you can rma it easily.
In case your worried about the method...i have been using it for almost a month or more now....with computer running 10-20hr at a time. With no condensation.

I finally got the 222bclk wall out of the way (required a hard mod on the gigabyte x58 extreme)...booted with 232 last night...before calling it a night and bed.

It'll be awesome to see what you get Slay...
LionRed is offline  
Old 07-14-2009, 07:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Operation SuperPi - Phase-Change

Quote:
Originally Posted by LionRed View Post
Nice Slay....what is that PhaseChange tun'd for? How many watts? Do you know?

Your going to coat the whole MB? Why not just use rubber eraser method...that way if anything happens to the MB....you can rma it easily.
In case your worried about the method...i have been using it for almost a month or more now....with computer running 10-20hr at a time. With no condensation.

I finally got the 222bclk wall out of the way (required a hard mod on the gigabyte x58 extreme)...booted with 232 last night...before calling it a night and bed.

It'll be awesome to see what you get Slay...
I've had it a long time, it was hand-built by a guy known as Zennzzo. I'm really not sure how cold it will keep an i7, but we will find out.

No, I won't be coating the whole mobo, just around the socket front and back. I'm not really concerned about the warranty or an RMA. I'm use to Voiding My Warranty, if I break it I'll buy something newer and faster.

How about posting a link to the hard mod you used. It might help someone else later down the road
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-14-2009, 07:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 50
Default Re: Operation SuperPi - Phase-Change

Well if you don't mind me linking to it BCLK 235 / PCIe 130 with GIGABYTE MB - Page 6 - XtremeSystems Forums

I don't want to point right to it as the guys in the thread...never did....but it is in that thread the mod and the bios needed. Pay special note (to anyone that should read this) the download link for the bios...also will get you to a picture of the mod. You just have to know how to look

Hurry up and get that phase change a freezing Slay!
LionRed is offline  
Old 07-14-2009, 10:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Operation SuperPi - Phase-Change

If you don't wanna waste time fabricating the neoprene to sit around the parts, plasticine based modeling clay will do the trick. That's what I did for my DICE setup and it worked like a dream. Only problem is it's a ***** to get off when you aren't gonna be using the phase change setup.

Other than that minor suggestion, looks like you've got all your bases covered and you know what you're doing! Look forward to some numbers for sure.

Also I think you should easily be able to take it over 5ghz. 6 would be relatively attainable depending on your ram and how far that can go.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 07-14-2009, 11:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Operation SuperPi - Phase-Change

This is going to be a sweet experience for everyone to watch. I applaud. 6ghz and I will bow!
__________________

__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change drive on remote machine after FTPing to it Hviezdoslav Programming 2 04-27-2009 11:31 AM
Computer Still acting screwy Shana2415 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 10 09-03-2008 11:36 AM
Thermaltake devloping affordable phase change unit TheOtis Overclocking and Modding 31 03-29-2008 07:02 AM
Vapor Phase Change... commandercup Overclocking and Modding 9 03-15-2008 12:28 AM
Selling my phase change unit for $500 jseber1982 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 20 11-05-2007 02:19 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.