Open platform case? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2007, 01:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 46
Default Open platform case?

Has anyone every used one of these? I figured as much as im inside my case coonfingering my stuff it would be easier. Then again its kinda high.

HSPC Tech Stations
__________________

__________________
CPU: Q6600 @ 3.5/Thermalright 120 Extreme
MOBO: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
RAM: 2G Corsair 800 DDR2 XMS2
GPU: EVGA 7950 GT KO
PSU: Corsair HX520
Case: Lian Li PC-A05B modded
Ice8168 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 02:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Open platform case?

it seems like MORE dust would get in it..plus if u drop something small..and it bounced into the computer...OUCH...or if a fly or something flew into your psu...i like keep them enclosed with good airflow
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 03:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: Open platform case?

It's a great solution for a server or pc in the right environment. Such as a well cleaned room that is used specifically for keeping pc's. Around the house however, it would be very risky for reasons stated above.
__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 04:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Open platform case?

I think they where developed for testing parts and for high end clean room type users.

They could be used to build a custom case, by using it as a internal frame and then building a case around it.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 01:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Open platform case?

everything sure would stay cool, though. those things are neat, but yeah...they are more like test benches.
that website also has tuniq towers on sale for 41.99 if anyone needs a new hsf.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 02:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Open platform case?

$80 for a pc with no sides?

You'd think it'd be cheaper...
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 05:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Open platform case?

I am going to buy one just to see what crasy case mod I can come up with.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 07:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Open platform case?

I like the concept, but I think I'll just get the Lian-Li PC-A70 instead.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 09:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Open platform case?

Well I saw a case on this sight that looks like a square frame with Fans on one side and covered with plexiglass but that was around £150 but with a frame like that and some pop rivets and stuff I could make one for 2/3's the cost.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 10:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Open platform case?

I'd barbed wire it in.
__________________

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open source 2D RPG engine searching for interested C++ programmers mvBarracuda Programming 19 10-11-2007 10:57 AM
Thoughts on the Antec 900 joey1 New Systems | Building and Buying 69 07-14-2007 06:04 AM
motherboard wont fit the case siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 06-22-2007 03:33 PM
Better case? mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-17-2007 01:57 PM
Don't forget Newegg Open Box's people :P Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 16 05-21-2007 11:21 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.