Ok so ready to overclock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2007, 01:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Ok so ready to overclock

My temperature readings have been wrong, but i got them working now

P5NSLI, Asus

Core 2 Duo E6420

idling atm at 31~32.

So far the top i have ever been is 44.

Currenty I have set Vcore at 1.3500, b/c that is my vid.
__________________

Deadpixel is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 01:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Ok so ready to overclock

This is the guide I used, to overclocked my e6400, on that motherboard:

AnandTech - The Unofficial ASUS P5N-E SLI 650i Board Thread

edit: I just noticed your's is the P5NSLI, without the E. It should be similar though.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Ok so ready to overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
This is the guide I used, to overclocked my e6400, on that motherboard:

AnandTech - The Unofficial ASUS P5N-E SLI 650i Board Thread

edit: I just noticed your's is the P5NSLI, without the E. It should be similar though.
wow lol, that is a lot of steps. Im unsure on how to that, does it come in a noob version?
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 05:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Ok so ready to overclock

just read it, O/C takes time but its easy once you get the hang of it, if you really get into it buy aftermarket cooling such as a a zalman or an arctic freezer
Nick is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Ok so ready to overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
just read it, O/C takes time but its easy once you get the hang of it, if you really get into it buy aftermarket cooling such as a a zalman or an arctic freezer
ima gonna buy an AP7 soon, im having the troubles though, of increasing voltage with 5MHz at a time. So I found a friend who knows his stuff, who is helping me out adjusting everything.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 06:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Ok so ready to overclock

Ok got it cranked to 2.2GHz. But i saw another thread about a guy who changed his multiplier to 11.5 with the same processor.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 06:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Ok so ready to overclock

What?!!! You can't change the multiplier on a e6420. Well maybe lower, but certainly not higher. I only know of the extreme editions that can do that.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 06:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Ok so ready to overclock

double post sorry
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 06:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Ok so ready to overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
What?!!! You can't change the multiplier on a e6420. Well maybe lower, but certainly not higher. I only know of the extreme editions that can do that.
his mutliplier says 11.5 i believe

this thread look at everst home says CPu Mutliplier 11.5X
__________________

Deadpixel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do I overclock my nvidea geforece 4 t1 4600 ? illnastyimpreza Overclocking and Modding 7 07-23-2007 06:50 PM
wanting to overclock my E6420 Snake64_009 Overclocking and Modding 12 07-16-2007 03:43 AM
ATi x1950xt overclock....? OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 11 07-14-2007 03:13 PM
Possible ways to manually overclock my stock cooled 8800 GTS advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 0 07-11-2007 05:41 AM
First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!! mvpo.geo Overclocking and Modding 10 04-13-2007 08:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.