ok to leave gpu oced? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2005, 01:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default ok to leave gpu oced?

i've been wondering about this for a while now. when i oc my video card, should i leave it at its oced settings, or should i go back to default when i'm not gaming? my cpu i (obviously) leave oced, but i wasn't sure about the video card...

also, for the people who have a evga 6600gt, how far have you been able to oc yours? right now i leave my card at default settings, but later i'll start ocing when i start noticing low fps in games.


jnev_89 is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 01:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

It already sets itself to 300 / 1000 while not in 3dmode

My XFX's have done like 597 / 1120 and my other XFX has done 574 / 1220, both stable

The clocks are lower now

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 02:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89

mine doesn't reset to default when not gaming...

i use powerstrip
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 02:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574

If it's stable then there is no problem leaving it. It just saves the hassle of adjustment whenever you want to play a game.

\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'

m3trj is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 04:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
KorKwin's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293

It has a 2D and a 3D mode. You can clock them seperately but with my friends 6800, when I change the memory in one, it carries over to the other one...
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 10:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer

yea 2d mode is for windows and 3d mode is for games just over clock the 3d mode and leave it and make sure ur temps dont go over 75C
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 10:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him

When you OC your GFX card, does it drop the OC when the GPU is not heavily in use?

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.