OK HDD's are getting very hot now... - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2004, 12:51 AM   #31 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Send a message via ICQ to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via AIM to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via Yahoo to Smokin-A.I.
Default

the taller the tower , like mine , the more you can run. requires a lot of power.
most systems become unstable because the psu cant handel the load being asked of it and it is usually the last component looked at . antec supplys will give a lot before they burn up , and cause the most damage to the mobo and other related parts ..vid..hdd.dvddr....even ram
__________________

__________________
if its not artifical intelligence, why have it?
Smokin-A.I. is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 01:02 AM   #32 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Send a message via ICQ to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via AIM to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via Yahoo to Smokin-A.I.
Default

what that means ...is an antec power supply will hold out the longest before you will need a new one! the best i have ever bought! i have been running a 250 w for about 2 years now and never had a problem with it! and yeas i have it loaded to the max!
__________________

__________________
if its not artifical intelligence, why have it?
Smokin-A.I. is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 01:03 AM   #33 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

i'm running everything in my case, plus alot of lights, 10 fans, 1CD-drive, and a 600mhz+ overclock...on a 330watter Enermax. been running solid for over a year now, rails still stable. I think Enermax makes great PSU's, along with Antec, OCZ, ConnectX...and a few more. it's a "switching PSU" though. and if i am correct can supply up to 410watts of power when needed. some weirdo function, but i imagine at that kind of stress level rails would be considerably low.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 01:07 AM   #34 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

how many hd's are you using though?
Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 01:19 AM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nvidia fan boy
how many hd's are you using though?
Single Western Digital 80GB 7200RPM 8MB Buffer, running on SATA150. get ~74GB/s bandwidth with it, was getting like 30GB/s when i had it on ATA133 lmao. So glad i decided to try SATA, made a big difference performance wise.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 01:22 AM   #36 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

so your just using one? thats why your not stressing your psu.
Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 01:26 AM   #37 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nvidia fan boy
so your just using one? thats why your not stressing your psu.
yah...jsut one. but HD's aren't the only thing that stresses PSU rails. Overclocking will majorly, and running alot of cooling will. Take a peltier for instance, runs on it's own seperate PSU just to have enough power to cool. I imagine everything in my rig plus the overclocking of RAM, CPU, and Mobo...probably uses about 90% of my PSU's power. But i dont plan on any upgrades as of yet, so buying a new one is somewhat pointless unless this one starts acting up.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 01:29 AM   #38 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

true. but from the original topic his hd's are prolly heating up cause his psu sucks and it cant handle the tensin of everything else.
Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 01:36 AM   #39 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nvidia fan boy
true. but from the original topic his hd's are prolly heating up cause his psu sucks and it cant handle the tensin of everything else.
ah, sry i thought u meant something else. that would seem to be the problem, also the fact that his HDD's are running at a bus speed that exceeds normal and draws even more power than a normal RAID0 setup would.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 01:47 AM   #40 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

so his hd's would get hot because of a bad psu or not enough power. hince what we have been saying all along.
__________________

Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.