Ok... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2005, 09:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Ok...

Ok im going to start building a computer for a friend here in the next month and i am debating on which motherboard to get, im a huge fan of MSI motherboards but i was thinking about trying out a DFI board for once...

http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813136152

http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813130491

Which one should i go for?

And dont all of you start saying DFI because there supposed to be better i want some really good answers... And no im not going to do a search.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 12:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Jyizorz
Default

Out of those 2 motherboards, I would go with the DFI LanParty.

You have chosen 2 PCIE motherboards, neither have AGP, so Im guessing your going to be using PCIE video cards. Main factor of my reasoning is because the DFI board has 2 16x PCIE slots, which gives you a chance at a nice set of SLI cards. It also has more USB on the board, and the more USB the better. The DFI has dual LAN ports, and it also has the nForce4 Ultra chipset, which I personally prefer.

I hope my opinion helps.
__________________

Jyizorz is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 01:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

As far as i know the ultra D dont support SLI does it? Besides this guy doesnt need SLI....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 01:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

it says no on the site but it has two 16x slots thats wierd
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 01:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Thats because the chipsit can be modded to support SLI >_< I'm not going to mod it if i buy it.....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 07:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

MSI K8N Neo4-F ATX AMD Motherboard.
Mainly because i have been using them for years with various system. I have rarely had a problem with them.

And loved the after sales support that I get from MSI.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 07:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Harper
MSI K8N Neo4-F ATX AMD Motherboard.
Mainly because i have been using them for years with various system. I have rarely had a problem with them.

And loved the after sales support that I get from MSI.
Neo4-F's are a great board, and anyday I am going to be building a system with one.

However DFI are better, MSI are value board's that kick ***.

DFI is just pure kick ***.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 07:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Thats one of the reasons im wanting to go with MSI but the person im building this machine for loves them neon lights and colors and crap, the only thing is he uses an older printer that uses the parallel port and not a USB port and the DFI dont have one.... SOOOO....... i think ill stick with the MSI just because of the price and it has what he needs >_<
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 12:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Jyizorz
Default

In my opinion, you had your mind made up before you asked us. -_-


By the way, the DFI supports SLI with a SLI bridge.
Jyizorz is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 01:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Actully i still havent really decided on the parts, and no that dont support SLI unless you mod the chipsit.....
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.