Often shut down with 3.0 Ghz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2011, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iceyc0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 410
Default Often shut down with 3.0 Ghz

Posting this for a friend because he can't remember he's login and has to wait 15 mins lol, and had to go soon. he'll reply when he can.

Often when he plays BF2, his temps on his 1055t get pretty high and his comp turns off.

He says there's a featuere in bios that disables an option for the computer to shut off at a certain temperature, not sure on this though. He has a m4a89gtd pro mobo (with no usb 3 he says there's a difference)

So the question is, where is it in the bios and what is it called?

This is his water cooling:Thermaltakeusa**Thermaltakeusa**BigWater 760is : BigWater 760is CL-W0121

We are real life friends so we have basically the same build, since we were both doing a budget gaming PC and his has a bit of problems.
__________________

__________________
Gaming PC Build:

NZXT Phantom | Intel i5-3570k 3.4Ghz | Asus P8Z77-V | CoolerMaster V6 GT | Ripjaws
8GB 1600mhz | EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2GB | Corsair HX750 Watt |SB 1.5TBHDD
7200 RPM+WD 500GB 7200RPM | OCZ Vetex 3 120GB SSD | Lite-On 24x Reader/Writer/Burner Drive |
Razer Naga MMO Gaming Mouse | Razer Lycosa Gaming Mouse | Logitech G930 Gaming Headset
iceyc0ld is offline  
Old 02-08-2011, 10:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Often shut down with 3.0 Ghz

Shutting that off can wreck his cpu...... The specs say am2, but i bet it can't handle an x6.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-08-2011, 11:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Often shut down with 3.0 Ghz

I think you are looking at the wrong mobo, patonb. This should be the one:
Newegg.com - ASUS M4A89GTD PRO AM3 AMD 890GX HDMI SATA 6Gb/s ATX AMD Motherboard

BF2 only likes to use a single core. If you meant BC2 (Bad Company 2) then that's a different matter.

Has he tried cleaning the cooler? Is his thermal paste misapplied (too much, too little, uneven)?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-08-2011, 12:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Often shut down with 3.0 Ghz

Sorry T.. i shoulda added I was talkjing about the cooling loop. Its an older system.... best gpu they spec is an 8800 and am2 chip
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-08-2011, 07:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 48
Default Re: Often shut down with 3.0 Ghz

Hey guys, This is iceyc0ld's friend that is having this problem. Okay so the deal is that most of the time that I play a game such as BFBC2 or Crysis my computer randomly restarts. I'm guessing that its because my setting that came stock are that after it reached 45 Celsius the computer would shut down. I'm wondering if theres any that I can turn that off. Also I have to mention my worst error I have made, I didn't put thermal paste on the water cooling, I know I know its bad but I just haven't gotten time to fix this. I'm going to try this weekend coming up to put the paste.
Thanks guys appreciate you help
Mario Eats BK is offline  
Old 02-08-2011, 07:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Often shut down with 3.0 Ghz

If you didn't TIM it youre frying you cpu...... AND IF YOU CONTINUE TO USE IT YOURE AN IDIOT.

The issue is youre cpu might read 45 but is hitting much higher and is shutting down to stop damage. No TIM is youre issue, and only putting it on will fix it.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-08-2011, 08:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 48
Default Re: Often shut down with 3.0 Ghz

What do you mean by TIM?
Mario Eats BK is offline  
Old 02-08-2011, 08:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ckop11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Minnesota U.S.
Posts: 207
Default Re: Often shut down with 3.0 Ghz

TIM = thermal interface material = Thermal paste

THIS
is good for its price.
__________________
Phenom II x4 40 BE - 3.6Ghz
Asus M4A89GTD Pro Usb3 - 6Gb/sec
Mushkin Blackline 8GB @1800
NZXT Kraken x61
840 Samsung x2
MSI GTX970
24'' Dell G2410
Windows 10
ckop11 is offline  
Old 02-08-2011, 08:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 48
Default Re: Often shut down with 3.0 Ghz

Thanks but I would prefer if you can give me the best one from the link below because I live close to tiger direct which means I can just go and pick it up there at the store.

http://http://www.tigerdirect.com/ap...compound+paste
Mario Eats BK is offline  
Old 02-08-2011, 09:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Often shut down with 3.0 Ghz

Only one I can rfecommend from there is the ocz..... OCZ OCZTFRZTC Freeze Thermal Extreme Conductivity Compound at TigerDirect.com

Mainly because Soul did a review on it for the site. Thermal Paste Showdown
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
On shut down.................. jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-17-2006 11:28 AM
win xp will not shut down shiz Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-31-2005 07:59 PM
Win XP won't shut down CouGaR Microsoft Windows and Software 4 08-10-2005 05:34 PM
When you shut down XP Pro... Gambitrox Microsoft Windows and Software 28 01-13-2005 12:08 AM
shut down norco1 Microsoft Windows and Software 10 06-13-2003 05:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.