*The Official Tech-Forums Super Pi 1M Rankings* - Page 80 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2008, 08:34 PM   #791 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Tech Forums Official SuperPi 1M Top List

For AMD that's super respectable..

fastest Phenom time was 19.223 seconds (or something)

IRONMODS: New AMD Phemon SuperPi 1MB WR - 19.922s - XtremeSystems Forums
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 08:41 PM   #792 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Tech Forums Official SuperPi 1M Top List

That's at 2.8ghz with like 4MB Cache. Still not bad for a Phenom. Deneb should have 8MB and able to over clock much higher. Can't wait until they're released, going to have loads of fun with that chip.

Why is the second Cores multiplier higher then the other 3?
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 09:04 PM   #793 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: Tech Forums Official SuperPi 1M Top List

Woo!

Got passed that 18 sec mark but this little bugger is all tapped out now till i get a new board

Shumway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 09:07 PM   #794 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Tech Forums Official SuperPi 1M Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
That's at 2.8ghz with like 4MB Cache. Still not bad for a Phenom. Deneb should have 8MB and able to over clock much higher. Can't wait until they're released, going to have loads of fun with that chip.

Why is the second Cores multiplier higher then the other 3?
he only oc'd one core and isolated superpi to run on the second core because its only single threaded. and by isolating the oc to one core it helps a bit with temps cause there isn't a huge increase on all teh cores, granted there's still gonna be an overall increase in heat cause the voltage isn't isolated to core2, but there will be less heat coming off the other 3 cores.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 09:09 PM   #795 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Tech Forums Official SuperPi 1M Top List

If you can get that E2200 to hit 3.5ghz then I'll do my best to push my X2 to 3.4ghz. Which translates to insane voltage increase and suicide runs.

Is it smart to overclock just one core?
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 09:13 PM   #796 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Tech Forums Official SuperPi 1M Top List

yes it is, if its for a single threaded app

on the old 680i i turned off 3 cores for my 680i to get the time that you see there
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 09:24 PM   #797 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Tech Forums Official SuperPi 1M Top List

How do you disable the cores??

In windows?? I may just do that on my F@H rig to cut back on power usage.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 09:25 PM   #798 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: Tech Forums Official SuperPi 1M Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
If you can get that E2200 to hit 3.5ghz then I'll do my best to push my X2 to 3.4ghz. Which translates to insane voltage increase and suicide runs.

Is it smart to overclock just one core?

I'd go for 3.5ghz no problem if i had a decent board that didn't have insane vdroop.

This piece o crap has .1+ droop which makes oc'ing a crap shoot
Shumway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 09:25 PM   #799 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Tech Forums Official SuperPi 1M Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
How do you disable the cores??

In windows?? I may just do that on my F@H rig to cut back on power usage.
I believe through BIOS
AP4LIFETN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 09:26 PM   #800 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Tech Forums Official SuperPi 1M Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
How do you disable the cores??

In windows?? I may just do that on my F@H rig to cut back on power usage.
its usually a feature within bios.. it is widely known in 680 and 780i boards
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tech Forums Steam Community - Please add DoMiNaT0R_99 or murdocsvan murdocsvan PC Gaming 129 09-02-2008 11:20 AM
Tech Forums Team Fortress 2 Game Oreo PC Gaming 13 10-30-2007 11:58 AM
tech forums drift team Poizen22 Microsoft XBox 4 07-28-2007 06:56 AM
The firepower of Tech Forums. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 12 07-26-2007 12:29 AM
tech forums ratings baron5 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-14-2007 07:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.