*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* - Page 60 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2007, 11:24 AM   #591 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

i finally got my score higher than what i had it on xp.
Not much difference, but im surprised i got it higher than xp.

Score:16,866
cpu @ 3.4 gpu @ 714/1707/1165

Orthos was stable after an 8 hr test, so i think im fine.
temps idle around 27, and gets to 50 on load which i think is great.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 01:10 PM   #592 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by synergy View Post
what's the multi on the q6600?
The defualt is 9, but you can set it between 6-9 in the bios.
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 01:39 PM   #593 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

hey blits....im trying to get to 14K.
its gonna be hard, but ill try everything i can.
my ram is at 972 right now @ 5 5 5 15.
I just need to learn how to oc my ram a little more and maybe my cpu a little more.
My cpus clock is at 486, and i know i cant get it past 500.
...i should start a thread on oc ram , cos i have no idea on how to oc ram.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 03:37 PM   #594 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitersety View Post
Nice. I think you can be pretty assured that I won't be stealing your score any time soon lol my GTX won't even touch core clock speeds like your GT can, and my q6600 isn't going higher than 3.6 any time soon. However once the 9800 series comes out, all bets are off .

Oh by the way I hope you are only keeping your GT's memory that high as part of your suicide run. You don't have it that high 24/7 do you? Have you read about how the GT's memory controller wasn't made to handle more than 2000 MHz (yours is at 2100) and if kept higher than that, it could go bad?
Nah, I keep it at 700/1000 for regular use. There is a 2x multi on the memory core? I didn't know that. Thanks for the info! I don't think I'm going to push my CPU much further. I'm still trying to see if anything crashes while I'm at 3.6GHz. If so I'm fine keeping 3.4GHz 24/7, it's done awesome and keep low temps cause of the lower volt. Although like krazyq is saying, I'm not too good with OC'ing RAM and that could bump my score a bit more.
__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 05:51 PM   #595 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
hey blits....im trying to get to 14K.
its gonna be hard, but ill try everything i can.
my ram is at 972 right now @ 5 5 5 15.
I just need to learn how to oc my ram a little more and maybe my cpu a little more.
My cpus clock is at 486, and i know i cant get it past 500.
...i should start a thread on oc ram , cos i have no idea on how to oc ram.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnelson07

Like krazyq is saying, I'm not too good with OC'ing RAM and that could bump my score a bit more.
Icic well, krazyq, you are my second closest competitor, no offense but I surely hope I don't fall to seventh place if you do get higher than 14k lol. That being said I'm kind of a noob at overclocking RAM myself (hence my "Help with RAM Timings please" thread). When I overclocked my RAM, I basically just relied on the fact that it is top-quality OC'ing RAM so I knew that I could kind of blindly do whatever I wanted and find out what works and what doesn't. So basically what I did was change the ratio to 3.33:1 (although right now I have it at 3.20:1 so that it remains stable at 4-4-4-12) and that way it's frequency rose big time from 800 mhz to like 1050 mhz. With your fsb you might want to have the ratio at something like 2.5:1 or 2.40:1 etc because idk how safe it is to push DDR2 800 ram too far above its recommended operating frequency of 800 mhz.

So anyway I noticed in CPU-Z that my RAM timings were very high(because on the bios I had that set to auto) and that just was not happening lol so I managed to finally get them down to 4-4-4-12 by finessing the fsb and my RAM's voltage.

You might find more info by looking at my "Help With RAM Timings Please" thread it should still be on the front page of the overclocking forum.

But just know that RAM timings/frequency doesn't affect your score in 3DMark06 very much, you'll probably see more of an improvement in SuperPi or maybe SMP Folding.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mnelson07

Nah, I keep it at 700/1000 for regular use. There is a 2x multi on the memory core? I didn't know that. Thanks for the info!
Yeah, it has GDDR3 RAM, DDR meaning double data rate, so you multiply the frequency of the RAM by 2 and the product is the actual operating speed.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 05:59 PM   #596 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

You wont hurt your memory by running over its stated MHZ. The only way to really hurt anything these days is by overheating it or overvolting it. Also, its debated as to whether its better to have low latency or higher speed. I'm going to try to get my ballistix to run 3-3-3-10 for grins. They need to hurry up and get here.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 06:22 PM   #597 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

I think a higher frequency is better then lower timings... to a point, it is good to have a it right in the middle.

Like Veedub said, pushing the freq. won't hurt it. It will just become unstable. Now if you change the ram's voltage... That would be a different story.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 06:24 PM   #598 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
I'm going to try to get my ballistix to run 3-3-3-10 for grins. They need to hurry up and get here.
Wow 3-3-3-10? Good luck with that. I think I've come to a middle-of-the-road solution with my ballistix: over 1 GHz and 4-4-4-12 timings. I'm happy with it, considering it was a similar freq. before with much higher timings. However if I get bored one day, I might see if I can get them even lower. Idk.

Oh and thanks for confirming he freq. thing for me. I just assumed that since they sell DDR2 1066, there must be a limit to DDR2 800. It's good news to hear that there is not.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 06:33 PM   #599 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

If I'm at a 5440 right now, what do you suppose I could reach with an 8800gt? Is my cpu holding me back?
__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 06:36 PM   #600 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinteenNinetySeven View Post
If I'm at a 5440 right now, what do you suppose I could reach with an 8800gt? Is my cpu holding me back?
high 9,000's. you might be able to break 10,000 if you overclock the GPU

the CPU at 2.75GHZ will hold back the score a bit. Nagasama broke 10,000 (and beat my score) with an 8800 GT and his 3600+ at just over 3GHZ

I got over 10,200 with a single 8800 GTS 320MB card, and my 6000+ at 3.5GHZ
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
just to say hi to everyone on the Tech forums!! mAfia_boy New Member Introductions 4 12-30-2009 07:07 PM
Tech Forums Steam Community - Please add DoMiNaT0R_99 or murdocsvan murdocsvan PC Gaming 129 09-02-2008 12:20 PM
Tech Forums Team Fortress 2 Game Oreo PC Gaming 13 10-30-2007 12:58 PM
tech forums drift team Poizen22 Microsoft XBox 4 07-28-2007 07:56 AM
The firepower of Tech Forums. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 12 07-26-2007 01:29 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.