*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* - Page 420 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2010, 07:55 PM   #4191 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: *The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings*

The M4A79XTD EVO I'm using is terrible for HTT reference clock increases (I've only been able to get it POSTing with ~214HTT), so it wouldn't do well with a 1055T

With a Crosshair IV Formula it would do well (they can get >300 HTT speeds)
Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
I don't know why it was closed, but it's open now.
I'm guessing it auto-closed due to no posts being made in a while?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 05:25 AM   #4192 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: *The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings*

Well, I have a 1090T in my system now. Problem is the BIOS (v2001) does not quite agree with it.

It has AGESA 3.6.9.0, which recognises it, and it does detect the default settings.

However, changing any of the settings in BIOS has no effect. I need AGESA 3.7.0.0 for that.

Trying to change settings with K10stat also does nothing.

Using AMD Overdrive I can change the settings for the most part. However:
* I need to enable then disable Turbo in order for the CPU multiplier to actually change
* CPU multiplier simply won't go higher than 20X (4GHz at 200HTT) - probably a bug in AOD
* for some reason, if I set the HTT to higher than 200, 3dmark06 CPU test goes slow in the middle (but is fast at the beginning and the end), so I don't get a score as high as I should.

Running the CPU at 4GHz gives me a CPU score of almost 7,500. But GPU tests are not as fast as before, which holds my score back (~8300 SM 2.0, ~10,800 SM 3.0 at 1075/1250)
I'm hoping it's because the CPU needs to run at >4.2GHz (like on my 965).

So anyway, basically, I'd say either this board's BIOS needs some work, or I need a new board.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 02:01 AM   #4193 (permalink)
Grand Tinker
 
cq842000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to cq842000
Default Re: *The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings*

Yes I know that 3DMark06 doesnt have PhysX, but I'm only informing you of the extra card present for the sake of honesty and posterity.

30,543 | cq842000 | i7 930 @4.51 ghz w/HT | Radeon HD5970 core 1000/ mem 1250 + GTX 260 720/1547/1150 (Hybrid PhysX) | W7 64-bit | ORB - Compare

Edit @ below....Like I said, I only posted specs for the sake of honesty.
__________________
...Unda..Bestia...
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | Swiftech/EK/Feser Liquid Cooling | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 2000 DDR3 | 2x Sapphire Radeon HD6990 (core 1ghz/memory 1.5ghz) + GTX 460 for PhysX
| 2x WD 640 GB 7200rpm HDDs | Antec True Power Quattro 1200w + Antec True Power Quattro 1000w |

cq842000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 05:15 AM   #4194 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: *The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings*

3Dmark06 doesn't use PhysX
__________________
Apokalipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 02:30 AM   #4195 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: *The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings*

Well, I discovered that in Windows 7 it is possible to change the CPU multiplier higher than 20X using AOD (in XP I couldn't)

I was able to complete a run at 4.2GHz
23,923 | Apokalipse | Phenom II 1090T @ 4.2GHz | HD5870 @ 1100/1280 | W7 x64 | ORB

However I'm finding it pretty impossible to get a higher score, since almost every time I try to run it with the CPU at 4.2-4.3GHz, the CPU will automatically downclock itself to 1.6GHz in the middle of the CPU test.
Cool'n'Quiet and C1E are both set to disabled, so that shouldn't happen.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 02:39 AM   #4196 (permalink)
Grand Tinker
 
cq842000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to cq842000
Default Re: *The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings*

Well congratulations Apokalipse, thats a great score.
__________________
...Unda..Bestia...
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | Swiftech/EK/Feser Liquid Cooling | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 2000 DDR3 | 2x Sapphire Radeon HD6990 (core 1ghz/memory 1.5ghz) + GTX 460 for PhysX
| 2x WD 640 GB 7200rpm HDDs | Antec True Power Quattro 1200w + Antec True Power Quattro 1000w |

cq842000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 02:42 AM   #4197 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: *The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings*

I was hoping for at least 24K, closer to 24,500
That might have to be on a new board if Asus don't make a new AGESA 3.7.0.0 BIOS
__________________
Apokalipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 08:09 AM   #4198 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: *The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings*

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post

I was able to complete a run at 4.2GHz
23,923 | Apokalipse | Phenom II 1090T @ 4.2GHz | HD5870 @ 1100/1280 | W7 x64 | ORB
For some reason your ORB is directing me to my score. I think you need the comparison link.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 08:16 AM   #4199 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: *The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings*

I just checked, and it's set to private.
But for some reason, I can't make it public. I click 'Make public", page refreshes, and it's still private?
I tried it in Chrome, Firefox, also deleted cookies...
__________________
Apokalipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 08:23 AM   #4200 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: *The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings*

What if you sign out and then sign back in?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
just to say hi to everyone on the Tech forums!! mAfia_boy New Member Introductions 4 12-30-2009 07:07 PM
Tech Forums Steam Community - Please add DoMiNaT0R_99 or murdocsvan murdocsvan PC Gaming 129 09-02-2008 12:20 PM
Tech Forums Team Fortress 2 Game Oreo PC Gaming 13 10-30-2007 12:58 PM
tech forums drift team Poizen22 Microsoft XBox 4 07-28-2007 07:56 AM
The firepower of Tech Forums. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 12 07-26-2007 01:29 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.