*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* - Page 371 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2009, 12:20 AM   #3701 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06/03 Top List

The Radeon 3xxx series are better at 3dmark than they are at real games. Furthermore the cpu bottleneck is a virtual myth and it has been documented. Unless you are running a gtx260 with a Pentium 4 I wouldn't worry about cpu bottlenecks. Most games, save a few are gpu limited.

But even then, I would expect you to have a noticeable performance bump. You went form a very old dual core to essentially a Q6600.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 12:24 AM   #3702 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06/03 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
The Radeon 3xxx series are better at 3dmark than they are at real games. Furthermore the cpu bottleneck is a virtual myth and it has been documented. Unless you are running a gtx260 with a Pentium 4 I wouldn't worry about cpu bottlenecks. Most games, save a few are gpu limited.

But even then, I would expect you to have a noticeable performance bump. You went form a very old dual core to essentially a Q6600.
isn't the bottleneck real because games require a decent CPU to run at respectable frame rates? also in the benchmarking sense, the benchmarks also test the CPU as well, so won't the score be lower?
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 12:24 AM   #3703 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06/03 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
the Radeon 3xxx Series Are Better At 3dmark Than They Are At Real Games. Furthermore The Cpu Bottleneck Is A Virtual Myth And It Has Been Documented. Unless You Are Running A Gtx260 With A Pentium 4 I Wouldn't Worry About Cpu Bottlenecks. Most Games, Save A Few Are Gpu Limited.

But Even Then, I Would Expect You To Have A Noticeable Performance Bump. You Went Form A Very Old Dual Core To Essentially A Q6600.
Better Than A Q6600! Ahhhh!
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 12:27 AM   #3704 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06/03 Top List

Most games are Video card limited. Compared to what the video card does the cpu has a pretty easy job. Except for some games like Supreme commander and other RTS's. FPS games will always be GPU limited. There was a really good article I read about it a long time ago that explained it. It was old but the concept still holds. Just think about it.

The video card has all of the 3d rendering and physics now. The cpu has control input (light) network stack (light) sound acceleration (light) etc. Most of the time your cpu can get its work done at an equivalent2-300 fps, while the video card is getting its job done at around 60fps. Since the cpu is doing its work so much faster the system is limited by the GPU.


Quote:
Better Than A Q6600! Ahhhh!
Not really. Compare.
Directupload.net - Daq4vcevs.jpg
19,297 | Thirdshiftdj | Q6600@ 3915mhz | Sapphire 3870x2 | Server 08 | ORB

That GTX280 does a little bit better at 3dmark 06 than the 3870X2. And the Q6600 has a slightly lower clock speed which can account for the small difference in scores.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 01:25 AM   #3705 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06/03 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
Most games are Video card limited. Compared to what the video card does the cpu has a pretty easy job. Except for some games like Supreme commander and other RTS's. FPS games will always be GPU limited. There was a really good article I read about it a long time ago that explained it. It was old but the concept still holds. Just think about it.

The video card has all of the 3d rendering and physics now. The cpu has control input (light) network stack (light) sound acceleration (light) etc. Most of the time your cpu can get its work done at an equivalent2-300 fps, while the video card is getting its job done at around 60fps. Since the cpu is doing its work so much faster the system is limited by the GPU.




Not really. Compare.
Directupload.net - Daq4vcevs.jpg
19,297 | Thirdshiftdj | Q6600@ 3915mhz | Sapphire 3870x2 | Server 08 | ORB

That GTX280 does a little bit better at 3dmark 06 than the 3870X2. And the Q6600 has a slightly lower clock speed which can account for the small difference in scores.
hmm interesting. I just found out that Left 4 Dead, GTA4, n perhaps most other games i have do not detect Crossfire! WTF!!??? How do i fix this exactly? Sapphire really screwed up this card big time. It doesnt support PCI-E x16 2.0 out of the box either.

whatever man, i still think the Phenom II 940 is better. I've seen benchmarks already.

EDIT:

shows both primary and secondary GPUs, but like i said Crossfire isnt being detected in Left 4 Dead.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 02:45 AM   #3706 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06/03 Top List

The card doesn't need pcie 2.0. It cant saturate a 1.0 slot as is. As for multi gpu support, that is handled on a game by game basis. They have to code the games to support it. Its not sapphire's fault.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 03:01 AM   #3707 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 116
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06/03 Top List

Ill be posting here once I get my system up and running =D.
Difolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 03:37 PM   #3708 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06/03 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
The Radeon 3xxx series are better at 3dmark than they are at real games. Furthermore the cpu bottleneck is a virtual myth and it has been documented. Unless you are running a gtx260 with a Pentium 4 I wouldn't worry about cpu bottlenecks. Most games, save a few are gpu limited.

But even then, I would expect you to have a noticeable performance bump. You went form a very old dual core to essentially a Q6600.
so why does a guy with a core i7 and 8800gt sli get 60 fps maxed in gta4??? the 8800gt isnt that demanding. as we thought yet allows the 8800gt's to shine.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 03:39 PM   #3709 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06/03 Top List

^^ It's also possible that GTA IV is just cpu intensive which would certainly explain why running a i7 improved performance.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 03:43 PM   #3710 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06/03 Top List

thing is tho i have sli 8800gts's g92. and i only get 26 fps maxed out with afr2 forced and it displays my cpu only being used 70% of the way.. so yes cpu intensive but it isnt bringing my chip to its knees either so this leads me to beleive cpu bottle neck does exist. toms hard ware did an article last year about it and they deemed that it does exist.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
just to say hi to everyone on the Tech forums!! mAfia_boy New Member Introductions 4 12-30-2009 07:07 PM
Tech Forums Steam Community - Please add DoMiNaT0R_99 or murdocsvan murdocsvan PC Gaming 129 09-02-2008 12:20 PM
Tech Forums Team Fortress 2 Game Oreo PC Gaming 13 10-30-2007 12:58 PM
tech forums drift team Poizen22 Microsoft XBox 4 07-28-2007 07:56 AM
The firepower of Tech Forums. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 12 07-26-2007 01:29 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.