*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* - Page 132 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2008, 08:08 PM   #1311 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by decibaL View Post
but crucial manufactures them
What's the difference between the Ballistix, and Ballistix Tracers? anything apart from the LED's on the black heatspreader?
I'm thinking about getting 4GB Crucial Ballistix PC8500, to go with the Phenom BE.

I'd like to see how a Phenom goes with GOOD RAM
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 08:22 PM   #1312 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

I've heard that the tracers are the exact same as the regular Ballistix, except with LED's. But I've used both regular Ballistix and Tracers, and I have to say the tracers feel more stable.
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 08:55 PM   #1313 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitersety View Post
Oh okay. I just remember that HZ's used to be recommended all the time around here and then all of a sudden everyone switched to recommending ballistix. idk y.

About the source engine v-sync issue. Does this only affect CS:S? I've never experienced any trouble with v-sinc on i tf2 or any of the hl:2 games. I don't know any cs:s pro's to ask about it though, where can I find more info on it? You've got me curious now lol.
its more of a common knowledge kinda thing, play TF2 with v-sync on, and then play it with v-sync off. Don't touch any of your mouse sensitivity settings, you will notice theres a HUGE unexplainable difference in mouse behavior ( in terms of acceleration and axis movement ). With V-Sync on, it essentially "retards" any mouse. Again...if your a total noob in FPS games...you won't notice :P
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 09:33 PM   #1314 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
its more of a common knowledge kinda thing, play TF2 with v-sync on, and then play it with v-sync off. Don't touch any of your mouse sensitivity settings, you will notice theres a HUGE unexplainable difference in mouse behavior ( in terms of acceleration and axis movement ). With V-Sync on, it essentially "retards" any mouse. Again...if your a total noob in FPS games...you won't notice :P
lol trust me I'm not a noob... I like to play as sniper in tf2 so I'd definitely notice If my mouse was being retarded.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 09:56 PM   #1315 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitersety View Post
lol trust me I'm not a noob... I like to play as sniper in tf2 so I'd definitely notice If my mouse was being retarded.
If you like headshotting with a deagle, you'll definitely notice mouse accuracy and sensitivity.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 10:08 PM   #1316 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
If you like headshotting with a deagle, you'll definitely notice mouse accuracy and sensitivity.
I wouldn't know I don't play counter strike. But come to think of it, I think I have v-sinc turned off in tf2. lol I'm not sure I'll double check next time I play and see what happens if I turn it on.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 10:31 PM   #1317 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

I never turn v-sync on. Then your fps is limited to your refresh rate, isn't it?
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 10:40 PM   #1318 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

yup, thats right, it helps prevent tearing in some games though
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 11:32 PM   #1319 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

friend who is top 7 for cs:cz has v-sync off, my other friends who are central division champs for 1.6 all have v-sync off, they seem to like the 100fps cap
__________________

decibaL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 11:33 PM   #1320 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twizted_3kgt View Post
I never turn v-sync on. Then your fps is limited to your refresh rate, isn't it?
in games like COD 4 it really really makes the game look loads better and smoother. The source engine is the only engine where v-sync seems to "retard" the mouse.
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
just to say hi to everyone on the Tech forums!! mAfia_boy New Member Introductions 4 12-30-2009 07:07 PM
Tech Forums Steam Community - Please add DoMiNaT0R_99 or murdocsvan murdocsvan PC Gaming 129 09-02-2008 12:20 PM
Tech Forums Team Fortress 2 Game Oreo PC Gaming 13 10-30-2007 12:58 PM
tech forums drift team Poizen22 Microsoft XBox 4 07-28-2007 07:56 AM
The firepower of Tech Forums. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 12 07-26-2007 01:29 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.