*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* - Page 128 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2008, 09:50 PM   #1271 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

dear god. i really need to kick up my scores... im bopping around down at the bottom of the list
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 11:35 PM   #1272 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
wow you got 3.3ghz with Wintec AmpX Ram?
Yep, and a crappy 92mm cooler. I've had it 3.6 stable but it gets too hot with the voltage I need to do it with this cooler. I'll be upgrading soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
...if he ran the mem 1:1 he could get 3.6ghz without ever overclocking the memory.
I have the memory speed unlinked from the FSB speed. This memory DOES NOT overclock...AT ALL. Not even 1 mhz. Anyway, I don't fully understand what you mean, care to explain?
__________________

__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 11:42 PM   #1273 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
^ you could get another 2300-2500 easy with some overclocking. Might need to replace your cpu hsf though with something better
Yeah I know, i'm not too concerned with it. I've been playing all my games on max settings, including Crysis on all high + 2x AA, without so much as a hiccup. All I care about.

I decided not to even go SLI yet, no point if it does it's job as is. It would be a waste of $300. Down the road when this card needs a boost, i'll pick up another when they're cheaper. For now I could use a better cpu cooler.

On another note: I can't get this GPU to overclock AT ALL with the Nvidia tool, just fails the test and goes back to stock. Should I try Rivatuner or something?
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 05:33 AM   #1274 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twizted_3kgt View Post
Yep, and a crappy 92mm cooler. I've had it 3.6 stable but it gets too hot with the voltage I need to do it with this cooler. I'll be upgrading soon.



I have the memory speed unlinked from the FSB speed. This memory DOES NOT overclock...AT ALL. Not even 1 mhz. Anyway, I don't fully understand what you mean, care to explain?
That sounds like the board to me, because mnay people have oc'd the ram quite a bit.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 07:10 AM   #1275 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
That sounds like the board to me, because mnay people have oc'd the ram quite a bit.
him being one of them ^^^
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 09:35 AM   #1276 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Hmm could be. Could also be i'm just doing something wrong lol.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 11:37 AM   #1277 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
On another note: I can't get this GPU to overclock AT ALL with the Nvidia tool, just fails the test and goes back to stock. Should I try Rivatuner or something?
Use ATITool or Rivatuner, both are excellent OC'ing programs. ATITool is good because it has a built-in artifact tester. I use both of 'em, myself: ATITool for OC'ing/artifact scanning, and Rivatuner for adjusting my fan speed.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 11:59 AM   #1278 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Use ATITool or Rivatuner, both are excellent OC'ing programs. ATITool is good because it has a built-in artifact tester. I use both of 'em, myself: ATITool for OC'ing/artifact scanning, and Rivatuner for adjusting my fan speed.
Rivatuner I don't understand at all. ATITool has easy sliders so i'm using that right now, upped the clock quite a bit. What's the best way to test the new clocks?
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 12:51 PM   #1279 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Did some GPU overclocking, here's the latest:

14,901| TwIzTeD_3kGt | Q6600 @ 3.30GHz | XFX 8800GT 512 @ 720/1050 | XP Pro 32bit | Futuremark - ORB - Result Analyzer

I'm pretty much in love my system at the moment.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 01:31 PM   #1280 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twizted_3kgt View Post
Did some GPU overclocking, here's the latest:

14,901| TwIzTeD_3kGt | Q6600 @ 3.30GHz | XFX 8800GT 512 @ 720/1050 | XP Pro 32bit | Futuremark - ORB - Result Analyzer

I'm pretty much in love my system at the moment.
nice score, and a good GPU overclock but couldn't that Q6600 go higher?

oh and being in love with your system is not deemed healthy
__________________

Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
just to say hi to everyone on the Tech forums!! mAfia_boy New Member Introductions 4 12-30-2009 07:07 PM
Tech Forums Steam Community - Please add DoMiNaT0R_99 or murdocsvan murdocsvan PC Gaming 129 09-02-2008 12:20 PM
Tech Forums Team Fortress 2 Game Oreo PC Gaming 13 10-30-2007 12:58 PM
tech forums drift team Poizen22 Microsoft XBox 4 07-28-2007 07:56 AM
The firepower of Tech Forums. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 12 07-26-2007 01:29 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.