*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* - Page 100 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2007, 05:18 PM   #991 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

holy ****.... dude, crank that **** up to 4.66 and see what that does for you.

that is quite a bit, price wise, for it, but i guess it isn't too bad cause it's all setup and with water cooling a warrenty could be very comforting and will help you sleep at night.

also as long as your happy then thats all that matters
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 05:37 PM   #992 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

i doubt it will POST at 4.66, much less last through 3dmark....that is just wayyyy to high for water cooling...that is on the edge of needing phase change cooling.
__________________

mgcook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 05:38 PM   #993 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

you need to download Rivatuner...and crank the clocks up on those cards

also, make sure you turn down the AA and AF to application controlled..that will give you a big boost. while you are at it...uninstall ntune..it sucks

i have no doubts you'll see 20k
mgcook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 05:47 PM   #994 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

8,503 | Peter.Cort | [*COLOR=DarkGreen] x2 4000+ @ 2.81GHz | [*COLOR=red] 3850 256mb @ 729/939 | XP Home 32bit | Futuremark - ORB - Result Analyzer

--I'm gonna get 10k tonight fo sho.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 05:48 PM   #995 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 65
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

LOL Peter, I am not confident on overclocking to 4.66GHz on the PC's first DAY lol, perhaps after I have got a feel for the system.

Who was it who said Dell's are **** again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
you need to download Rivatuner...and crank the clocks up on those cards

also, make sure you turn down the AA and AF to application controlled..that will give you a big boost. while you are at it...uninstall ntune..it sucks

i have no doubts you'll see 20k
Okay I will do that, these babies are running at stock so anything other is surely to give at least a small bump in score.

Edit > Also...(n00b quesion alert) What res are these scores calculated on? Because im testing @ 1280x1024...is that right?
Dell Boi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 05:52 PM   #996 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

1280x1024 is default.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 05:56 PM   #997 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

also make sure to set the sliders to performance in the nvidia control panel.

Unfortunately Vista always seems to take about a 1000 pt hit in the CPU score for me, and it looks like its doing the same to you. A quad at 3.6 should get 5200-5600 cpu points at least.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 05:56 PM   #998 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 65
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

Yeah, thats a shame...why does it take such a big hit on vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
1280x1024 is default.
Right, thanks dude.

Can I ask a question...new to all this...does having a physics card make much 3Dmark difference?
Dell Boi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 06:02 PM   #999 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

don't think so with your cards because don't all the 8800 series cards have the integrated physics card?

how about dx10 v dx9?
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 06:04 PM   #1000 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: The Tech Forums Official 3DMark06 Top List

nope a physics card has no effect on 3dmark06
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
just to say hi to everyone on the Tech forums!! mAfia_boy New Member Introductions 4 12-30-2009 07:07 PM
Tech Forums Steam Community - Please add DoMiNaT0R_99 or murdocsvan murdocsvan PC Gaming 129 09-02-2008 12:20 PM
Tech Forums Team Fortress 2 Game Oreo PC Gaming 13 10-30-2007 12:58 PM
tech forums drift team Poizen22 Microsoft XBox 4 07-28-2007 07:56 AM
The firepower of Tech Forums. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 12 07-26-2007 01:29 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.