The Official NosBoost300 Overclocking Thread - Page 61 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2008, 05:42 PM   #601 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: The Official NosBoost300 Overclocking Thread

yeah... having it all sitting out on the bench there, the wires get a bit annoying... you could rig up a pretty sweet ghetto tech bench with a few hooks to keep all the cables in check for $20 tho... i used to have one going... its a bit dead now lol
__________________

__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 06:22 PM   #602 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: The Official NosBoost300 Overclocking Thread

hey bongwizard, draw me out a layout of how my loop should be

imma order 12 ft of tubing so i won't go through no more trouble.. my loop is only the way it is because i had no more tubing.. so i had to work with the sizes i had already... when i shoved my gpu in the loop.. i didnt order any more tubing like an idiot...

and, i did have my wires all fixed up... but some reason when i switched my outlet plug to my psu to another computer... my computer wouldnt boot and i had to redo all my wiring trying to find the problem.. so i left it looking like ***...

anyway.. question... buy loop number 2, or another gtx260...

if i get my gtx260... it will be aircooled for another week or so from the time i buy it
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 07:21 PM   #603 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: The Official NosBoost300 Overclocking Thread

i wouldnt buy a second loop personally... if i was in your position, id look at building a homemade single stage phase system for the CPU and use the existing loop for both 260s... the phase system will perform way better than any straight WC loop (ie non-chiller) and should cost about the same as a good quality WC loop (around $550-600 here in oz... i havent looked at US prices, but they should be less than the equivalent... probably around US$300... not sure tho)

if you dont wanna do that, i'd keep the current setup and get the extra 260... you'll have to keep it on air for now, cuz you wont be able to handle the thermal load with a single loop, so you'll need another loop strictly for the GPUs if you wanna OC the second 260 very far... then if you want (after you've got the 2nd loop) you could switch the CPU loop to a water chiller (which is really an etho chiller... i dunno why people say water), but i find this is far less effective and actually more complex and prone to failure than a simple single stage system...

i'll go and draw that loop diagram now... its not gonna be real quality )i haven't got AutoCAD installed on this system since i changed OSes) but you'll be able to figure it out..

time for some paint!! lol
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 07:37 PM   #604 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: The Official NosBoost300 Overclocking Thread

Seems like single stage phase ain't cheap but nice temperatures.

Single Stage Phase Unit - Dev Hardware

I would get it but my aunt wouldn't like one of those in her house.
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 07:57 PM   #605 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: The Official NosBoost300 Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prototype View Post
Seems like single stage phase ain't cheap but nice temperatures.

Single Stage Phase Unit - Dev Hardware

I would get it but my aunt wouldn't like one of those in her house.
that's a pretty good machine... a bit overpriced tho... but i suppose that's because he didnt build it himself... you can do -47C for about US$300... i'm gonna go look at prices now

here's your loop nos... dont mind the quality of the drawing lol



that'll spread the thermal load out so the GPU should get a bit colder... so you should be able to squeeze a few more MHz outta it
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 08:28 PM   #606 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: The Official NosBoost300 Overclocking Thread

the gpu is already 43 at full load.... actually last night it was running 40c full load (folding@gpu client 2)

so.. gpu has no problem....

i'll probably order some more tubing and some y splitters tonite...

and you forgot to add in the t line


and explain this single stage phase unit to me.. i can't imagine only spending 300 dollars.. that just seems too low...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 08:35 PM   #607 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: The Official NosBoost300 Overclocking Thread

if i could get 1 for 300 $ id definatly do it. id have to have a nicer box for it tho.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 08:36 PM   #608 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: The Official NosBoost300 Overclocking Thread

i'm definitely interested in a phase unit.. and have been for a long long while... but in terms of noise and power draw... it scares me

but i suppose a single stage can't be too bad

shipping.. will be 1/3 of the cost im sure....
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 09:32 PM   #609 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: The Official NosBoost300 Overclocking Thread

it really depends how cold you wanna go... you can get a relatively cheap and quiet compressor for r134a which will take you down to -30C or R507a (mix of r125 and r143a... takes you to about -48C)... i cant find any prices on compressors in the US off the cuff... but really, a decent comp shouldn't cost too much (and that's the main expense here), go down to your local AC/Refrigeration shop and ask if they've got any medium or high back pressure hermetic compressors... the insulation, piping, condenser and filter shouldn't be that much either...

the hardest bit is the actual evaporator... you'll either have to make one yourself or get someone to mill one for you, which might cost a bit... but all together i'd estimate that it should be US$300-400, but as i said, im not sure on prices there
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 09:37 PM   #610 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: The Official NosBoost300 Overclocking Thread

that sounds like alot of work dude.... lol

i do have a ac/frige shop nearby though

and i wouldnt have the slightest clue on how to put this all together.... lol...

sub zero temps would be nice though.. but it just seems like so much time and effort

i'll check xs and see what people have for sale
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Overclocking Thread. Ste Overclocking and Modding 429 02-24-2010 05:03 PM
Official Intel Overclocking thread Ste Overclocking and Modding 459 01-26-2010 07:49 AM
Post 3Dmark06 scores in the official thread Trotter Overclocking and Modding 0 11-09-2007 05:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.