Official Intel Overclocking thread - Page 14 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2008, 11:32 PM   #131 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

I got 4ghz with 1.625v's.... Not my idea of comfortable for 24/7... even if load temps were 62c's.

How about this for daily usage?



I've already tested it for 2 hours, appears to run fine. Mass Effect ran like a pro, except my GPU is bad... gonna buy a 4850 and RMA this one...
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 11:54 PM   #132 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
myowngod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 286
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

^^^ Man i need watercooling... I cant run over 3.45ghz without it getting too hot for comfort running smal FFT's in prime95... at my current 3.42ghz it still hits 62C full load - did you have to loosen your ram timings to make it run that fast? I had a hard time getting it stable anything over 3.5 - on top of the head issue....
__________________

myowngod is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 12:20 AM   #133 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeftEyeBlind View Post
Officially a member of the 4Ghz club, I feel like a superhero...

My machine is sitting right next to my keyboard scattered about without a case, ordering one tomorrow, not sure if I want to be cliche and get an Antec Nine Hundred or go with an AeroCool AeroEngine Plus.

Processor: Intel e8400 Core 2 Duo
Stepping: 6
Revision: C0
Final Clock: 4.0Ghz (445 x9 )
Final Vcore: 1.334 Volts

Power supply: Cooler Master eXtreme Power Duo
MotherBoard: GIGABYTE DS3L (Rev 2.0)
RAM: Patriot Extreme 2 x 512MB (2GB more coming soon)
RAM Speed: 1068Mhz! (and its DDR2 800)
Timmings: 5-5-5-20
RAM to FSB: 5:6
Final RAM Voltage: 2.3 Volts

Stress testing program: Orthos
Hour of Stability: 10 Minutes
Idle Temparture: Not sure, CoreTemp is recording wrong temps.
Max Load Temparture: " "
Reason for Stress Test End: I wanted to get on TechForum already and post this.

Heatsink: Stock Intel (Getting something nicer soon) ..Very cold in here.
Thermal Paste: Stock strips.
Lapped Heatsink: No
Lapped Processor: No

Link
Common dude, 10 minutes?? You don't srly expect me to accept 10 minutes?

"hours of stability"
Ste is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 12:49 PM   #134 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by myowngod View Post
^^^ Man i need watercooling... I cant run over 3.45ghz without it getting too hot for comfort running smal FFT's in prime95... at my current 3.42ghz it still hits 62C full load - did you have to loosen your ram timings to make it run that fast? I had a hard time getting it stable anything over 3.5 - on top of the head issue....
I left everything on auto except the vcore, fsb, and some other small stuff. I haven't touched the ram at all.

I get mixed opinons on how much voltage I should be putting into the thing... on XS half of them say "ITS FINE GO AHEAD!" and the other half say "zomg 1.4v's max!!!"

I do want to make this board + proc last btw... hehe
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 04:00 PM   #135 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

on a g0 quad you don't really have to worry about voltage. Although personally I would not be comfortable with more than 1.55v 24/7
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 04:10 PM   #136 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

ah, ok thats cool then. XS wants me to break it I think, lol... they are like "Your only cool if you run it 4ghz 24/7!"
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 05:51 PM   #137 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 172
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

Hey Drizzt5, what's that shell mod you're using on your vista? and does it support vista 64?

This thread is great, I'm gonna try over clocking my Q6600 in a few days when i get a new case.
Squirtis is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 04:09 PM   #138 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

Its just a program, It's a cheap rip off copy from wincustomize that you can get for free at alienware.com. And my OS is actually XP. It probably works on vista.

BTW, how should I adjust my cpuPL for my q6600? I left it on AUTO while OC'ing cause I wasn't sure.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-12-2008, 08:44 PM   #139 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

Yo here, are some screenies of my bios, Could I get some suggestions on what I should change/use and stuff..... I kind of guess and checked these settings up to this point, they are OCCT 7 HOURS stable, but sometimes it won't POST the first time, lol! I have a feeling it's my RAM...

Anyways, my goal is to have mostly my OWN settings, without AUTO... because I already reached 3.9ghz stable with mostly auto settings and I want to fine tune my system with my own settings to get some better performance and perhaps more stability. Suggestions please!







Double post unavoidable, I could of started a new topic :P
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-12-2008, 09:03 PM   #140 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

they are almost identical to my settings except I have
AI clock twister- light
trans boosteR- disabled
NB- 1.49 (I'll fine tune this later)
FSBT- 1.26
SB voltage-1.050
SB 1.5v- 1.50v

Drizzt, are those settings for 3.6ghz
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Post 3Dmark06 scores in the official thread Trotter Overclocking and Modding 0 11-09-2007 05:03 PM
Overclocking on a D975XBX2 Intel Mobo ModernTantalus Overclocking and Modding 4 08-14-2007 02:30 AM
Intel 1333 fsb vs the 1066 fsb chips in overclocking dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-20-2007 01:08 AM
Overclocking An Intel 810? techsquad Overclocking and Modding 5 04-19-2007 09:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.