Official Intel Overclocking thread - Page 11 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2008, 03:28 PM   #101 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

Nice clock, finally a 680i to compare.



Having RAM issues, When i run ram:fsb at 1:1 i get bad boots. any suggestions?

Oh RAM V is 2.2v
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 10:34 PM   #102 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

when u run ram 1:1 in bios it will go to what u put your fsb to before you divide that by 4... it was tryin to run it at 1333. to get a 1:1 run your ram unlinked at 667 then you will be able to lower some timings...

also there are alot of ppl here who have 680i's mgcook has his posted, he ran at 3.2 24/7. nosboost has one also. veedub has one tooo. all there overclocks are in this thread
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 10:45 PM   #103 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by stalin90 View Post
when u run ram 1:1 in bios it will go to what u put your fsb to before you divide that by 4... it was tryin to run it at 1333. to get a 1:1 run your ram unlinked at 667 then you will be able to lower some timings...

also there are alot of ppl here who have 680i's mgcook has his posted, he ran at 3.2 24/7. nosboost has one also. veedub has one tooo. all there overclocks are in this thread
Doh...... I'm an idiot... I knew it was trying to run at 1333mhz, Just never thunk to set it at 667!

Hmmm, didn't see they're OC stuff, Too much chatter between posts, so i probably glazed over.

Thanks
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 10:56 PM   #104 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

ya u kinda just have to read every post
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 11:28 AM   #105 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

patonb: If you wish to have your overclock recorded in the Original post you will need to post your results in the format laid out, and just as well the same format everyone else followed.
Ste is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 09:04 PM   #106 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

Yha.. I knew, I REALLY just wanted help with my RAM so i added the screen more for extra info than for the score.

It's only 3.0 so it's not in the top.. and barely stressed.

But thanks for the reminder...My Superpi's more impressive than my OC at 17.603.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 12:00 AM   #107 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Danville Illinios
Posts: 44
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

Ive been reading about overclocking well before I built my first rig. gave it my first shot this morning. All i did was change the FSB to 400 and it gave a oc to 3.6, just what I figured. I ran Prime 95 for about 2 1/5 hours afterwards and didnt get any errors at all. Im running it over night tonight. should I up the vcore at all, or if its stable just leave it?

Just learning about it so Im taking it very easy, decided to leave the easytune alone and do it in BIOS.
__________________
CPU..Intel e8400
MoBo..Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
CPU Cooler.. Coolermaster TX2
RAM..2 Gig Crucial Ballistix
GPU..EVGA 8800GTS (G92)
HDD..Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
PSU.. OCZ StealthXStream 600
DVD.. Samsung 20X DVD Burner
ALL in a Entec 900 case w 1 extra 120mm LED fan
OTHG_ChefTreb is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 12:06 AM   #108 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

if its stable just leave it, if anything try lowering it and see if you stable there

edit i just realized that all you did was change fsb, you prolly have all you other stuff set to auto your gonna wanna set those to defined settings in your bios also(voltages, ram settings...)
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 12:10 PM   #109 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

I added a link to the Hard Forum Overclocking Data base.

Final Vcore is chip and cooling dependant, some people can have medium to crazy overclocks on near to slightly above stock voltage because the chip may have a low VID or is just a rare good overclocker.

my VID is 1.25 and I only need 1.3375v for 3.6 Ghz, some chips clock better than others on lower voltages, that is all.
Ste is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 12:20 PM   #110 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

Hey Ste, since I don't have a Core Architecture based CPU, and I want to be part of the list, what do you recommend I use?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Post 3Dmark06 scores in the official thread Trotter Overclocking and Modding 0 11-09-2007 05:03 PM
Overclocking on a D975XBX2 Intel Mobo ModernTantalus Overclocking and Modding 4 08-14-2007 02:30 AM
Intel 1333 fsb vs the 1066 fsb chips in overclocking dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-20-2007 01:08 AM
Overclocking An Intel 810? techsquad Overclocking and Modding 5 04-19-2007 09:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.