Official Intel Overclocking thread - Page 10 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2008, 08:44 PM   #91 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

I don't understand this. Maybe you can explain, whenever I am running a stress program like OCCT, the cpu clock will jump back and forth between 3.31 and 2.2, which is lower than stock. I have both E1ST and C1E disabled in the bios. I use HWMonitor, CPU-Z, Coretemp and they all give the same results. Is there something else I need to disable?
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 08:46 PM   #92 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

I honestly don't know, those are the main two options in the CMOS that would cause such.

IS there anything called spread spectrum or thermal monitering? Perhaps something called thermal design??

You could email tech support of the boards manufacturer and present the problem, as I know you already asked at this forum and noone could figure it out.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 08:48 PM   #93 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

I don't remember seeing anything like that but then again I wasn't looking for anything like that.

I might give them a shout and see what they say.

Do you know is the VID listed in the bios and how do I get a pic of the bios? Do you think flashing, I think means upgrade, the bios will help?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 12:15 PM   #94 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

The VID of your processor, any processor is stated in core temp.

Reading what the updated BIOS includes may help in deciding whether you need to flash it or not.
Ste is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 06:36 AM   #95 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

Processor: Q6600
Stepping: B
Revision: G0
VID: 1.200
Final Clock: 3.2 Ghz (356X 9)
Final Vcore: 1.2375Volts

Power supply: Corsair TX750W
MotherBoard: Evga 680i A1
RAM: 2GB Corsair XMS2 (DDR2 800 2 x 1 GB)
RAM Speed: 712 Mhz
Timmings: 5-5-5-17
RAM to FSB: 1:1
Final RAM Voltage: 1.9 Volts

Stress testing program: Prime95, OCCT, Gaming
Hour of Stability: 2.5, 1, 5 Hours
Idle Temparture: 40C
Max Load Temparture: 59C
Reason for Stress Test End: to run OCCT, to game, to sleep

Heatsink: Tuniq 120
Thermal Paste: AS5
Lapped Heatsink: Yes
Lapped Processor: Yes



its not final, still playing with voltage. and plan for temps to drop once i install new fans tomarrow. also gettin some better ram soon
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 08:06 AM   #96 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

stalin90, are you stable? The reason I ask is I am at 3.3ghz and my vcore is at 1.35. How do you have yours so low? I noticed that somebody on here is at 3.7ghz and their vcore is 1.37. Am I doing something wrong?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 12:08 PM   #97 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
stalin90, are you stable? The reason I ask is I am at 3.3ghz and my vcore is at 1.35. How do you have yours so low? I noticed that somebody on here is at 3.7ghz and their vcore is 1.37. Am I doing something wrong?
everyones is going to be diff.
I need a lot of voltage to get past 3.3ghz, so it varies.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 02:21 PM   #98 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by stalin90 View Post
Processor: Q6600
Stepping: B
Revision: G0
VID: 1.200
Final Clock: 3.2 Ghz (356X 9)
Final Vcore: 1.2375Volts

Power supply: Corsair TX750W
MotherBoard: Evga 680i A1
RAM: 2GB Corsair XMS2 (DDR2 800 2 x 1 GB)
RAM Speed: 712 Mhz
Timmings: 5-5-5-17
RAM to FSB: 1:1
Final RAM Voltage: 1.9 Volts

Stress testing program: Prime95, OCCT, Gaming
Hour of Stability: 2.5, 1, 5 Hours
Idle Temparture: 40C
Max Load Temparture: 59C
Reason for Stress Test End: to run OCCT, to game, to sleep

Heatsink: Tuniq 120
Thermal Paste: AS5
Lapped Heatsink: Yes
Lapped Processor: Yes



its not final, still playing with voltage. and plan for temps to drop once i install new fans tomarrow. also gettin some better ram soon
nice final clock. when you get that ram, at that low ram speed, you can deff lower your timings way down. get some tracers
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 03:06 PM   #99 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by stalin90 View Post
Processor: Q6600
Stepping: B
Revision: G0
VID: 1.200
Final Clock: 3.2 Ghz (356X 9)
Final Vcore: 1.2375Volts

Power supply: Corsair TX750W
MotherBoard: Evga 680i A1
RAM: 2GB Corsair XMS2 (DDR2 800 2 x 1 GB)
RAM Speed: 712 Mhz
Timmings: 5-5-5-17
RAM to FSB: 1:1
Final RAM Voltage: 1.9 Volts

Stress testing program: Prime95, OCCT, Gaming
Hour of Stability: 2.5, 1, 5 Hours
Idle Temparture: 40C
Max Load Temparture: 59C
Reason for Stress Test End: to run OCCT, to game, to sleep

Heatsink: Tuniq 120
Thermal Paste: AS5
Lapped Heatsink: Yes
Lapped Processor: Yes



its not final, still playing with voltage. and plan for temps to drop once i install new fans tomarrow. also gettin some better ram soon
u need to push it your vid is 1.20 that is sligltly lower then mine.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 03:08 PM   #100 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Official Intel Overclocking thread

thx guys

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
stalin90, are you stable? The reason I ask is I am at 3.3ghz and my vcore is at 1.35. How do you have yours so low? I noticed that somebody on here is at 3.7ghz and their vcore is 1.37. Am I doing something wrong?
i have a low vid and also when i say im playin with the voltages i mean im lowering them still.
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Post 3Dmark06 scores in the official thread Trotter Overclocking and Modding 0 11-09-2007 05:03 PM
Overclocking on a D975XBX2 Intel Mobo ModernTantalus Overclocking and Modding 4 08-14-2007 02:30 AM
Intel 1333 fsb vs the 1066 fsb chips in overclocking dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-20-2007 01:08 AM
Overclocking An Intel 810? techsquad Overclocking and Modding 5 04-19-2007 09:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.