OCZ Platinum EL 4x1024 MB Overclock Limit? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2005, 09:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59
Default OCZ Platinum EL 4x1024 MB Overclock Limit?

Hey,
I picked up these 4 Gigs of OCZ Platinum EL memory PC3200 400Mhz.

Anyone know how far these can go while running stable?

Thanks,
I am still weeding through the millions of posts that have OCZ memory in them ha ha.

Smitty
__________________

__________________
------------------------------------------------
A computer :)
Smitty090 is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 09:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 224
Send a message via AIM to The Kraut
Default

I could be wrong but i think windows xp can only support up to 3 gigs at the moment.
__________________

__________________
Better sig coming soon.
The Kraut is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 09:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Yeah anything over 2GB's kills windows, anyways a 512MB stick OC's the best, a 512*2 OC's decently and your pushing it with 2GB's your going to have a hard time OC'ing 4GB's if you ever get it to boot lol
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 09:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59
Default

Hmmm,
Maybe I'll just run the 2 gig at the moment then and jam the other 2 gigs in my 2nd system.

Sorry for the post.. as I kept reading through I see people get upset at the "How far can I OC XXXX."
I will try to kill this thread.
Thanks for the responses.

Smitty
__________________
------------------------------------------------
A computer :)
Smitty090 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 02:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to turboFX55 Send a message via Yahoo to turboFX55
Default hmmm......3 is to small

The Kraut said

Quote:
I could be wrong but i think windows xp can only support up to 3 gigs at the moment.
UM no.............. my xp pro dual dual core opti system is running 6 gigs, i see alot of people claim that it is 3 gigs, but i have passed that many times, no it might be my xp pro, it is not a standard issue.
turboFX55 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 11:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

I have a question, why the hell do you need 6 gigs of memory? to slow you down?
Powerslave is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 11:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to turboFX55 Send a message via Yahoo to turboFX55
Default why the hell not?

why should i not have 6 gigs? I use a lot of apps that are memory and cpu hogs, and I run lots of copys of them at once. I.E. DVD Shrink, bullet proof ftp, etc. These days it is nice to have more then i need. Comes in very handy when playing games like bf2, fear, etc. I build a system to do one thing, run hella fast and do it well!
turboFX55 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 12:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

**** man how much money do you have
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 03:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

Turbo thats one nice system however I have one question. Where do you get 2gig memory sticks?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @2.4Ghz
Asrock ConroeXFire-eSATA2
Connect 3d X1800XT 256mb
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667Mhz
Belinea 19\" Widescreen LCD
Antec Super Lanboy
Seasonic ATX v2 430W
weringo is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 04:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
UM no.............. my xp pro dual dual core opti system is running 6 gigs, i see alot of people claim that it is 3 gigs, but i have passed that many times, no it might be my xp pro, it is not a standard issue.
Um no...if you're going to lie make sure you know what you're talking about

Windows XP supports 4GB of system memory which is accountable for both physical RAM and your virtual RAM pagefile dedicated from your hard drive. The only Windows operating systems that will support more will be server grade (eg Windows 2003) and must have the /PAE switch enabled...an option not availible in Windows XP regardless of version or service pack

Furthermore, even if I'm wrong and there is a way to crack the operating system to address more memory...your processor then becomes the bottleneck. 32 bit registers are only capable of addressing 2^32 (4 294 967 296) or 4GB of memory and there is NO way around this unless you increase your registers bitrate in which case you'd have to be running Windows x64 or another 64 bit operating system which you've already explicitly stated you haven't

Futhermore, you'd need 64 bit instruction sets to even take advantage of the extra memory otherwise it's just sitting there doing nothing and isn't even being recognized by the program in question, and since 64 bit applications are limited the added memory really serves little to no advantage...and since you basically just listed numerous applications above that are NOT 64 bit compliant you basically dug your own grave

Sure you HAVE 6GB maybe...but it's not doing you a whole lot of good
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.