OC'n CPU with 9x Multi - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2006, 01:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default OC'n CPU with 9x Multi

Okay...So plan to get the opty 165 and OC to about 2.6-7GHz. If the Multiplier only goes up to 9, can I set the HTT to 290-300? Or do I need to run a "divider" so the HTT doesn't have to be so high?

BASICALLY..would someone explain THIS to me and tell me how I could get a total speed of 2.6-7GHz with a 9 multi and ddr400/(500 ram if need be $$$)


"Memory frequency is determined by both CPU multiplier and RAM divider, unlike any other system.

The Memory Frequency (f) = CPU Frequency (c) / [Multiplier (m) + Divider (d)]

f = c / (m + d)

where d is 0, 2, or 5 (1:1, 6:5, 3:2)
m is an integer, always rounded up (therefore .5 multi's will round up)

so if you run 2.2ghz 1:1 on a 10x multiplier your memory frequency is 220mhz

220 = 2200 / (10 + 0)

but if you run 2.4ghz on a 9x multiplier (267x9) 6:5 your memory frequency is NOT 222 (267 x .83), but rather 218.

218.18 = 2400 / (9 + 2)"

So what does that equate to for my situation?
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 01:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

man your post is confusing. basically you should be fine with DDR400 if you don't want to pull the memory to far up with the overclock. if you get some decent overclockind DDR400 you will make it past DDR500 anyway. it all just depends on how much you want to overclock the ram because between your choices of ram and dividers its not an issue. are you worried that the ram will hold back your overclock?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 11:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

The only CPUs that are unlocked are the FX series.

It all depends on your ram or you could use the divider. I wouldn't OC your RAM that high. The latency will start slowing it down.

So use the divider.

You could also get the 175 - 11x250 = 2.75 w/ DDR @ 500.
turtile is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 12:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

Well i just found taht on the web and it didnt reallly understand it...So I could run a divider and only have to OC my ram a little bit? so a 6:5 divider would equal +2 on the mulitplier they're saying? which would allow the HTT to be a lot lower...I'm so confused


So what if I got this RAM mushkin eXtreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR500 SDRAM Dual Channel

And ran it at 250mhz and the set the multiplier to 9 and the ram divider to 6:5. Would that equal this?

2.75GHZ = 250Mhz (9 x 2)
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 01:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

I think I'm liking the idea of droppnig the opty 165 dc and getting the 150 sc instead. it has a multiplier of 12x and i could just set the htt at 250 with ddr500. Wholah! 3GHz single core cpu. Would that be better for gaming than a dc@2.75? or should i stick with a dc?
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 03:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

bump....3GHz single vs 2.5GHz Dual (at the worst) as far as gaming.

Anyone? bueller....bueller
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 03:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I have a 165, overclocked to 2.75GHz. I'm using the 9x multi and the 5:6 divider. This puts my RAM at 250MHz, or DDR500. I can even do 2.8GHz, but then I have to drop the divider to 150, putting my RAM at something like 230, and I like the faster RAM (plus my temps are very cool at 2.75). If you wanted to keep your RAM at stock speed, you could just put your RAM on the 133 divider (with an HTT of 306).
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 04:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

woah...can you explain the dividers a bit to me?

so for 2.75GHz...

5:6 = 166... which you'd have to run ram @ 250mhz or "ddr500 speeds"
1:1 = 133... which you'd have to run ram @ ?
2:3 = ?

what does the divider do as far as ran performance? an elementary explaination would be very much appreciated

I think I'll just run 5:6 divide w/ Mushkin Extreme DDR500 2x1GB @ 250HTT

That would = 2.75GHz which sould give me a sweet cpu for CSS, D3, COD2, etc right? lol
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 04:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

No, not really. I've got something that may help you. It's a program called A64Calc. It's a program thats, well... READ THE NAME. Get it here:
http://rapidshare.de/files/13658791/A64Calc.rar.html
It can be very useful.

BTW,
There are no guarantees that you will be able to get 2.75GHz. I ordered my 165 off ebay for a specific stepping.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 04:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

ooo i see.. I'll check that out. But even 2.5GHz would be fast for gaming no?

PS that program is sick! thanks!

But idk what anything but the HTT and CPU multiplier mean...
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.