OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2007, 12:29 AM   #21 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM

no, you misunderstand.
you have to drop the frequency of the ram, forget about the timings for now.
"in your bios go to:
advanced chipset features> enter
memory configuration > enter
memory timings > enter
timing mode > change from auto to user limit
memory clock limit > change from ddr2 400 ( ddr2 400 will be there from the auto setting it really isnt running at that speed, its running at ddr2 800 stock)to ddr2 533 or 667.
leave the main timings (the five numbers directly below memory clock limit) set at 5-5-5-18 2T for the time being"
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 12:36 AM   #22 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
no, you misunderstand.
you have to drop the frequency of the ram, forget about the timings for now.
"in your bios go to:
advanced chipset features> enter
memory configuration > enter
memory timings > enter
timing mode > change from auto to user limit
memory clock limit > change from ddr2 400 ( ddr2 400 will be there from the auto setting it really isnt running at that speed, its running at ddr2 800 stock)to ddr2 533 or 667.
leave the main timings (the five numbers directly below memory clock limit) set at 5-5-5-18 2T for the time being"
lol, those are great directions, i feel like i'm in grade 2 again :P lol, thanks i'm making that change as we speak....will post back in 5 seconds.
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 12:39 AM   #23 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM

ok, tried 667 first and got blue screen of death...switched to 533 and we're up and running again. Now I go back to playing with the FSB on the CPU?

Thanks again, could not find where to access the RAM speed, not as obvious as the timings.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 12:40 AM   #24 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM

hey dude find those other numbers i mentioned in the system clocks page of bios and change them all to x3. they will all be set to auto, but will have a "x5" next to them.
that is an important step, or you will overclock your ht bus too much and crash.
also, if you are at stock voltage running at 255 cpu clock, you should go ahead and raise it a notch, you will have to pretty soon in any event.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 12:42 AM   #25 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM

Ah, i was wondering about that...there are three correct? all under HT Multiplier...what is HT multiplier anyways...that's the CPU to RAM conversion?

BTW, thanks again for helping me pick out the parts, here is what she looks like right now...only further changes i'll make will be a second HD and to switch the tape to sleeves when I have the cash...the tape cost 75 cents so can't really go wrong there, keeps it clean for now.

jfenwick is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 12:51 AM   #26 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM

yes there are 3 sets.
no, not cpu/ram conversion (even though it 5 like my example before. coincidence lol) its the bus speed multiplier, sets the frequency at which your cpu can access information from the ram (or speed limit so to speak). the higher the frequency, the faster. but you probably wont even come close to using all of it, even with it set to 3. in general terms. it does not change anything about the ram. your system doesnt have a "fsb" so to speak, because the memory controller is built into the cpu. your ht bus is like the fsb of an intel, only faster (think about distance from point a to point b...). too bad its full potential has yet to be realized.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 12:54 AM   #27 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
too bad its full potential has yet to be realized.
lol, too bad I have no clue what language you are speaking

am slowly ratcheting up the CPU, will keep posting as we go.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 01:01 AM   #28 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM

lol you will learn pretty quick.
hey dude thats a really neat job on the case, looks great!
i have never used an af-7 before...so i dont know this for sure...but i think you probably want the fan pushing air towards the exhaust fan in the back of the case? it may be doing that now, like i said i've never seen one before.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 01:02 AM   #29 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default Re: OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
actually no, and certainly not if he has it set at a ratio other than 1:1, which would be a pretty odd (and uneccesary) thing to do on an am2 system. the cpu and ram are semi-connected (ie the ram speed will increase as the ext clock increases), but the ratio (divider) can be adjusted individualy.
ram frequency on the evga 590 (and all other am2 boards as far as i know) is dependent upon the speed (ddr2 400/533/667/800) he has selected, and also the cpu multiplier.
if your cpu is running at a cpu/5 ratio (ddr2 800) @ 2375mhz, your ram will be running at 475mhz, your cpu multiplier will be 9.5, and your external cpu clock (fsb if you will) is 250mhz. if you increase your ext clock to 275mhz, that will raise your cpu clock to 2612mhz, and your ram will then be running at 522mhz. 2612/5, get it? in no way is it as easy as "your cpu speed goes up 5mhz, so does your ram", unless you are running a 1:1 ratio. which is dumb if you have an am2 system and ddr2 800 ram, because you aint gonna get your cpu's external clock to 400mhz, therefore you will never realize your ram's full potential at 1:1.

Ok well I've been away from computers for a while, and haven't really even looked at new technology in the last like 4-6 months so I'm a bit off. So if I understand what your saying is you drop the ram speed to be 1:1 with the fsb then you can overclock the CPU and keep ram timmings tight without having to worry about the ram crapping out on you because it's already rated for 800mhz right? I'm still living in the past with my 939 system...still love it though
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 01:03 AM   #30 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM

Ok, works at 280, crashes at 282....

Crashes after the XP logo comes up...

At 280 it's a core speed of 2.65ghz, according to BIOS temp is 27 celcius...more RAM tweaking or amperage?
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.