Ocing Without Using BIOS. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2007, 05:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by K M A N
OK 2.4-2.7ghz, Right... will that be cool enough or will it overheat and get to hot (60 Degrees C +) ?


Thanks
I would guess if you don't use some AS5 or equivalent you aren't going to go far, but if you did have AS5 i would guess at 2.4-2.7 the temps wouldn't change much at all from stock settings. If they do i would guess maybe 2-8ºC higher.

I would guess your could be around 50-60ºC with the oc.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 12:31 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default

What tool should i use to up the voltage without using the bios?
__________________

nerdygeek is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 03:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nerdygeek
Sorry to bum off your thread
but yea im using a 3800 x2, can i use clokgen and easy tune aswell, even if i dont have a gigabyte mobo? And where do i change the voltage because i downloaded clockgen and it doesn't do it there. Thanks
you shouldnt. unless like O.P. it is absolutely neccessary. even then i wouldn't.
nosboost (probably) used it only to run benchmarks. you can fire up all kinds of gremlins if those windows utilities cause corruption.
what mobo do you have that doesnt let you access the bios?
what socket is your cpu?
what are your system specs, etc?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 07:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default

X2 3800 (939)
Mobo asus A8n-sli premium
2 gigs of value ram
evga 7900 gs ko

the problem is that i am using vista and the drivers don't work for it, therefore i cant use the AI nos asus provides and the bios wont let me change anythign except the hyper transport.
nerdygeek is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 10:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
i think most gigabyte mobo's come with easy tune... and yes easy tune is free and reliable... its how i hit 3.99 ghz and set the record on air here!! WOOT
prove that plz.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 01:42 AM   #16 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nerdygeek
X2 3800 (939)
Mobo asus A8n-sli premium
2 gigs of value ram
evga 7900 gs ko

the problem is that i am using vista and the drivers don't work for it, therefore i cant use the AI nos asus provides and the bios wont let me change anythign except the hyper transport.
hm, that sucks. dude you have like a kick @$$ 939 board...you should be able to o.c. the crap outta that 3800 (you'd need better ram, tho im sure you know this).
if i were in this situation...'fraid i'd have to dump vista...at least until they had drivers compatible with my mobo.
good luck with it , tho!
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 01:32 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default

thanks
__________________

nerdygeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.