OCing where should i put my voltage? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2007, 10:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 19
Default OCing where should i put my voltage?

issue solved
__________________

rickytan is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 10:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OCing where should i put my voltage?

Dude, you need to do 3 things.

1) read some overclocking faqs
2) state your computer's parts
3) be specific as to what you want out of your overclock.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: OCing where should i put my voltage?

yea...you don't want to overclock until you are very familiar with the process. There are so many factors involved in getting a stable OC that you could get in over you head in a hurry.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: OCing where should i put my voltage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Dude, you need to do 3 things.

1) read some overclocking faqs
2) state your computer's parts
3) be specific as to what you want out of your overclock.

dude, you need to do these three things.....lol

Come on man, you just have to up the Htt voltage and Dram voltage a little at a time. your core voltage shouldnt go above 1.5 v
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 01:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OCing where should i put my voltage?

You assume he has an intel though. I would prefer not to give blind advice, cause i dont want to get blamed for something burning up because he added x voltage.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 02:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: OCing where should i put my voltage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
You assume he has an intel though. I would prefer not to give blind advice, cause i dont want to get blamed for something burning up because he added x voltage.
I go to school with this kid. I know he has an x2 4000. He has it clocked to 2.6 ghz right now...i told him just to leave it there, thats a good clock for that chip. He doesnt need it to go any higher. 1.5 v is not too high for an AND chip.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 03:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OCing where should i put my voltage?

Oh well you didnt say that
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 10:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: OCing where should i put my voltage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmammen View Post
I go to school with this kid. I know he has an x2 4000. He has it clocked to 2.6 ghz right now...i told him just to leave it there, thats a good clock for that chip. He doesnt need it to go any higher. 1.5 v is not too high for an AND chip.
yeah and this is the ***** that got me an infraction.
rickytan is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: OCing where should i put my voltage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickytan View Post
yeah and this is the ***** that got me an infraction.

calm down little buddy...shouldn't be spamming my inbox

also, when i come bring that card over tmrw, ill take a look at your bios and see if i cant tweak a few things.
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ocing Opteron 180.. whats too much voltage? +3mv? zerodayATK Overclocking and Modding 15 12-05-2007 03:28 AM
CPU Voltage questions Gabb Overclocking and Modding 28 11-21-2007 09:15 PM
Why can I get to 2.8ghz on stock voltage but can't get anymore with more voltage? dario03 Overclocking and Modding 8 09-29-2007 10:53 AM
Increase RAM Voltage Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 41 09-02-2007 03:20 PM
Quick Voltage Question MetalOwns Overclocking and Modding 14 07-29-2007 11:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.