OCing video - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2006, 04:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
jspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
Default OCing video

I have a radeon 9600 what is a good OC setting to put it at and what is the best program to do it with?
__________________

jspot is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 04:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

I used aTiTool with my 9800pro, just go as far until you start seeing artifacts which are the dots and slashes.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 04:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

my old 9600 went pretty far, but when i got artifacts they stayed. so i pretty much quit overclockin so much, now i do it jus as much as i need it
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
jspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
Default

haven't oced video cards much what is a good setting?
jspot is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 07:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

go up by like 5 mhz each time till you get artifacts. Do the memory and gpu speeds seperately. I tried on a friends 9600 and remember getting a ridiculous oc like 150 mhz and still no artifacts.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 08:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
jspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
Default

I downloaded atitools .. I raised it 5 each time. then hit set clock .. now when I do that does it take affect right away?or do i have to reset my computer every time?
__________________
<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p117/jspot1012/AthlonX2-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>
jspot is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 08:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

No, it takes affect right away.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 08:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
jspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
Default

hmmm someone said they OCed a 9600 to 150 over default .. well my default is 500/297 I over clocked to 534/310 and already getting artifacts.. am I doing something wrong?
__________________
<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p117/jspot1012/AthlonX2-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>
jspot is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 09:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
jspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
Default

and I have OCed my CPU and my video card and my bench mark for both 03 and 05 both went down .. why is that?
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p117/jspot1012/AthlonX2-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>
jspot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.