OCing a TI83+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2006, 04:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default OCing a TI83+

hey ppl,
First off, I know this is a comp OC forum, and not a calculator one lol, but whoever's crazy about OCing overclocks anything with a cpu!
So I have a TI83+ calc and I wish to OC it, however every tutorial on OCing these babies comes out with pictures which do not look like my TI83+'s insides. I'm gessing i got a newer version...? I know this much, you have to change a capacitor (C11) to increase the cpu voltage and increase its frequency. I've found the C11 capacitor, but since my calc doesn't seem to match other TI83+ I'm reluctant to do anything right now. If any of you think yo can give me a hand with this, I'd be really happy
I'll be adding pictures some time soon, thx 4 ur help!
__________________

__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 05:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I think you are supposed to replace the crystal oscillator
the crystal oscillator is what the frequency is taken off.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default

Yeah, but woudn't that be like changing the cpu basically? I dont think I can do that, I mean can u buy Zilog 20Mhz cpus on the market, and get it to fit in your calc?
k so check ou the pic i'm attaching, and this one from an overclocking tutorial for TI83+ calcs ==> http://www.ftp83plus.net/overclocA.htm
Weird eh?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg calc1.jpg (56.9 KB, 36 views)
__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default

Here's a closeup on the cpu, and capacitor C11A (red arrow), the one I'm guessing I have to change, taken for granted that even though I dont have the same version as the one shown in the tutorial, it's still the same capacitor I have to change.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg calc2.jpg (53.7 KB, 38 views)
__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I still would like to overclock my X-fi sound card.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 09:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Haha. So overclocking a TI-83+ would make it faster? How much? I really hate waiting for graphs to load in math class. It's really a waste of time, especially if it's loading 3 or more functions at once...
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 11:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default

LOL yeah, OCing a TI83+ could mean increasing it's pathetic 6Mhz cpu to up to 18-20Mhz
that's why i'm pretty psyched by this. I'm also planning on building an infrared link to chat w/ other TI calc owners in my class.
So anyone actually know if the capacitor C11A on my calc is the one to change or not?
__________________

__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.