OCing ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2006, 09:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default OCing ram

ok, so i want to OC my 1gb of geil ram, how do i do it, cos i mean you cant monitor its temp so how do i know when its peaked?, does anyone mind explaing how i overclock it, i looked in the bios and i can increas something for the ram, and the voltage. and whats a memory diveder, you all say thats there good to have, but how do i set one up.

also i cant oc past the 3.4ghz (600mhz oc), despiter the temp only being at about 30, it juust says oc failed is this because of the ram, cos i read in another thread that the cpu and ram oc togerther and if the ram peakes then the oc wont go anyfurther, even if it can?

thanks

oh yea i i downloaded prime95, how do i use it, do i just click on the start button, and leave my comp on for a while?
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 10:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yes the memory overclocks with the cpu if a divider isn't used. the ram speed follows the FSB speed. you can try increasing the memory voltage or increasing the timings on the ram to stabilise it. overclock your pc to the highest point you can get to before you get this message, and run memtest86 for at least 3 passes to see if the memory is completely stable at this point.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 10:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

ok, i dont know much about the ram, but what do good timings look like, what do they mean?

so if i put the memory voltage up, i should be able to oc the cpu more right?
harry18 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 11:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

not necessarily it depends on whether or not it was the ram holding you back. you have to be very careful when you overclock so to me it sounds like you need to research some more theory. perfect timings for DDR400 (PC3200) are considered to be 2-2-2-5. tell us what model that RAM is so that we can tell you what it should perform like at particular speeds so that you can set it. i can't post any more for the moment so maybe another forum member can help you. good luck
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 11:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

ok thanks.

the ram is this stuff......http://www.geil.com.tw/portal/product_400_t_b.php this stuff i belive

heres a bunch of crap i got from pc wizard, if it helps....
Manufacturer : GEIL
Part Number : CL3-4-4-DDR 400
Serial Number : Unspecified
Type : DDR-SDRAM PC3200 (200 MHz) - [DDR-400]
Size : 1024 MB (2 rows, 4 banks)
Module Buffered : No
Module Registered : No
Width : 64-bit
Error Correction Capability : No
Max. Burst Length : 8
Refresh : Reduced (.5x)7.8 ┬Ás, Self Refresh
Voltage : SSTL 2.5v
Manufacture : Week 24 of 2005
Supported Frequencies : 133 MHz, 166 MHz, 200 MHz
CAS Latency (tCL) : 2 clocks @133 MHz, 2.5 clocks @166 MHz, 3 clocks @200 MHz
RAS to CAS (tRCD) : 3 clocks @133 MHz, 3 clocks @166 MHz, 4 clocks @200 MHz
RAS Precharge (tRP) : 3 clocks @133 MHz, 3 clocks @166 MHz, 4 clocks @200 MHz
Cycle Time (tRAS) : 6 clocks @133 MHz, 7 clocks @166 MHz, 8 clocks @200 MHz
harry18 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 01:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

ok, cpuz says the following..........

ok so, so far i just did the auto OC so its on 20%, form 2.8ghz up to now 3.4, but it wont go any further.

voltage: 1.68v
fsb: 160mhz

temp is around 27-30'c


FSBRAM: 1:1
freq: 160mhz

cas latency: 3.0clocks
ras to cas delay: 4clocks
ras precharge: 4clocks
cycle time: 8clocks

not sure if thismeans much, but what would you recomend putting all the settings at to maximase my OCing?

on this
mobo


thanks
harry18 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 04:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
FSBRAM: 1:1
freq: 160mhz
the ram can't be at 160mhz if the FSB:RAM ratio is 1:1. that ram is decent but not the best overclocking stuff. don't use auto overclocking. read some overclocking guides and learn how to do it properly.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 04:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

i don't have a divider like that, i just have to manually change the ram speed... i am horribly disappointed in my mobo...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 09:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

ok im confused, it says 1:1 ratio, i cant change that cos the cpu is locked, aww what do i do
harry18 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 11:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

ok so i set the fsb at 160mhz, voltage at 1.675v
the ram i put at 2.5v, and 266, the two setteings were 266 and 333

it booted up fine, so incresed the fsb to 170, put the voltage on auto, but no boot, where am i going wrong, i ran prim95 and it didnt pass the 47'c mark, on for 4 hrs, what should i do why can i oc any more?
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.