OCing RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2005, 11:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default OCing RAM

I changed my RAM speeds from 133mhz to 200mhz in bios and rebooted my comp.... but after windows started up the comp re-started by itself.
I never did anything with ram speeds before so I'm not sure if I just OCed my ram or not... and if I did why did my comp re-start. Is this because I have 2 different ram sticks in my comp?

[IMG][/IMG]
__________________

__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 11:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

not sure.. dont oc if u dont know wat ur doing
__________________

bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 02:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

look u just changed your ram to ddr400 sot thats a big oc for any ddr266
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 02:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

mabe you shoud do some research before you oc
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 03:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
not sure.. dont oc if u dont know wat ur doing
You couldn't be more on the money with that.

You need to read up on OC'ing man, it's just something you learn simply by going into the BIOS and changing options. That screen isn't the tab you need to be on to view your memory timings and speed.

Your PC2700 might be able to hit DDR400 speeds but you can't simply jump it up there and expect it to work.

Read the basics of OC'ing sticky at the top of the thread.

OC'ing RAM requires more patience, trial and error, and know how than OC'ing the CPU in my opinion and it's a lot easier to fry.

Like bigtime said, if you're unsure of what you're doing, you don't need to be trying it unless you simply don't care if you ruin something.
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.