OC'ing RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2013, 10:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default OC'ing RAM

Now, i'm pretty new to OC'ing. Through various websites' help, I was able to overclock my 2600k to 4.5GHz (which was easy enough thanks to ASUS's EFI GUI Bios). But I'm really stumped as to why my board pitches a fit when I try to OC the RAM.
I bought this RAM Newegg.com - G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-14900CL9D-8GBSR in hopes of it to work @ 1866MHz.

This is the board I have. Newegg.com - ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

The second I put try to adjust the RAM speed through the bios (even 1MHz over 1600), the computer gives me an "overclocking failed" post message.

I'm just not sure I understood what the (O.C.) after 1866 meant when I bought the board, but I thought it would be possible to get to it. I know this is kind of a vague problem (you can ask any questions you need and I'll answer them to the best of my knowledge), but can someone tell this Łber-noob why he's so stupid (...please?).
__________________

Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: OC'ing RAM

You have to up the RAM multiplier, or get 1866 through XMP. There are no gains of using anything higher than 1600. Take that from somebody who has 64GB of 2133.

Do NOT up the FSB/BCLK. You take a risk at damaging your other components by doing that.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 02:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: OC'ing RAM

to reiterate what pp said

you would not be able to tell the difference between 1333mhz and 2133mhz ram... DDR3 is just so fast and efficient, overclocking it just doenst yield any noticeable performance gains. just weak links and potential future BSODs...
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 02:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: OC'ing RAM

Eh, there are minor speed difference between 1333 and 1600 but you have to really pay attention, or care for that matter, to notice.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.