OCing Q6600 with stock heatsink? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2007, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default OCing Q6600 with stock heatsink?

If my Q6600 is running @ stock settings and idle at 31 degrees would it be safe for me to at least attempt an OC and see if I can get it around 2.6 or 2.8ghz?

I was thinking about doing that if I can while I wait for a better heatsink.
__________________

__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 04:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: OCing Q6600 with stock heatsink?

I'd say, you can get at least 2.6-2.8GHz, on a stock cooler. The temperatures might be high, but it's possible. Which stepping of the Q6600 do you have? B3 or G0? To find out, download CPU-Z, and tell us the revision.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 04:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: OCing Q6600 with stock heatsink?

thats easy.. push it from 266 fsb to 311... or drop the multipler to 8 and increase the FSB from 266 to 350.. that will get you 2.8ghz
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: OCing Q6600 with stock heatsink?

Cool, thanks guys.. its a g0 stepping by the way.

bigapl, what are u using to cool ures @ 3.3ghz?
__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 04:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: OCing Q6600 with stock heatsink?

I'm using the Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme, with a 140mm fan.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 04:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: OCing Q6600 with stock heatsink?

Nice, what are ure temps?
__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 04:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: OCing Q6600 with stock heatsink?

It's 33-35C idle, and 55-60C load.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 04:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: OCing Q6600 with stock heatsink?

^ DANG!!!

dude have u done 3dmark06 ?

and i don't think you will need a voltage increase.. for an overclock thta tiny
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 05:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OCing Q6600 with stock heatsink?

I was able to push my G0 to 3.2ish on stock voltage so you should be able to overclock a bit on stock cooling. The TRUE is the bomb, as long as you dont mind heating up your room with all the heat coming off the CPU. I plan to use my computer in lieu of running the heater by just clocking the quad back to 3.6ghz, maybe higher if it'll run it .
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 08:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: OCing Q6600 with stock heatsink?

What are safe temperatures for a Q6600 on load?
__________________

__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes? TheOtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 08-09-2007 12:20 PM
newegg = Q6600 out of stock! mgcook New Systems | Building and Buying 33 07-23-2007 02:19 AM
What should i be getting ? Oreo Overclocking and Modding 21 07-19-2007 09:11 AM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Zalman HeatSink for OC'ing??? shan1784 Overclocking and Modding 6 06-13-2007 10:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.