Ocing Q6600 past 3.2 GHz on an eVGA 680i - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2008, 12:09 PM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 172
Default Re: Ocing Q6600 past 3.2 GHz on an eVGA 680i

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Wouldn't all our bios be pretty much the same being the nvidia chipset?
I don't know, people in the other thread said they had to have the P30 bios, but i'm pretty sure i don't have that version. I don't know what else I would need to tinker with to be stable at 3.6. I pretty much tried everything i know and you guys suggested and tried all your guys settings on previous posts, so i don't know what's up.
__________________

Squirtis is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 01:08 PM   #22 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Ocing Q6600 past 3.2 GHz on an eVGA 680i

Have you posted you Vid? and you do have a cooler? right?

I just checked mine.. I too have an A2, but never tried to hit 3.6 so...
And my BIOS is dated '07.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 01:50 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Ocing Q6600 past 3.2 GHz on an eVGA 680i

We really need to know what the VID of the chip is to know what his overclocking potential is. Also, i have an A1 and q6600 that i have had stable at 3.6 and run as high as 4.0 i'm probably going to sell I'm either going to pick up a 9650 or an 8600, leaning toward a 4.5ghz e8600 as its half the price of the 9650.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 02:12 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 172
Default Re: Ocing Q6600 past 3.2 GHz on an eVGA 680i

my VID is 1.3250v

I pushed to 1.46 when trying to OC to 3.6, but had no luck with it. It's at about 1.42 or something when i OC to 3.2

*edit* and yes i have a cooler, my temps reach 60C when running small FFTs in prime.
Squirtis is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 05:12 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Ocing Q6600 past 3.2 GHz on an eVGA 680i

Yikes, i do believe i found the problem. 1.325 is HIGH for a q6600. Mine runs 3.6ghz using only 1.4v. VID 1.2
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 05:20 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Ocing Q6600 past 3.2 GHz on an eVGA 680i

indeed high vid, i had a 1.2 also and ran it at 1.2500 at 3.2 and pretty sure i was still over volting it.
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 06:30 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Ocing Q6600 past 3.2 GHz on an eVGA 680i

The q6600 is rated up to 1.5v and still be within spec. Set it to 1.5v (assuming your temps stay ok) and see if you can hit 3.6.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 06:55 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Ocing Q6600 past 3.2 GHz on an eVGA 680i

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squirtis View Post
my VID is 1.3250v

I pushed to 1.46 when trying to OC to 3.6, but had no luck with it. It's at about 1.42 or something when i OC to 3.2

*edit* and yes i have a cooler, my temps reach 60C when running small FFTs in prime.
Ay Carumba...

You are a victim of crappy Q6600 batches...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 07:04 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 172
Default Re: Ocing Q6600 past 3.2 GHz on an eVGA 680i

yea basically my VID is high, i've set it in the bios up to 1.525, but because of vdroop it only sets to 1.46-1.47. Once it was that high i was just thinking screw, cuz i didn't wanna permanently ruin it. Oh well w/e. 3.2 is fine anyways. thanks for all the help guys.
Squirtis is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 07:06 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Ocing Q6600 past 3.2 GHz on an eVGA 680i

Try to dump it for an e8400 or something
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feeler: 680i A1 evga veedubfreak Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 01-28-2008 01:40 PM
Free EVGA 680i SLI MB with the Purchase of an EVGA 8800 ULTRA jungleland New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-18-2007 07:34 AM
Help with Setting up RAID O with EVGA 680i tallguy22 Overclocking and Modding 3 11-05-2007 07:57 PM
Help me choose a decent oc'ing mobo for a q6600 R1C0CH3T New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-04-2007 02:31 PM
OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM jfenwick Overclocking and Modding 45 08-25-2007 05:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.