OCing the Q6600 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2008, 04:24 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: OCing the Q6600

tbh I have never clocked like it says in those guides.

I always set my vcore to the max I would be comfortable running 24/7 then start off at some insanely high clock. Then back off by about 100mhz til it seems more or less stable...then I fine tune it a bit and see if I can lower the vcore.

I've never understood raising the FSB by 25mhz and the vcore by .05v and running prime. By the time I get a stable clock the hardware would be obsolete!

With my method I can usually find my max clock in a few hours and get it stable in a day or so of testing (when I'm not home)
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 11:27 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OCing the Q6600

Same here, i picked the setting i wanted, 3.6ghz, set it to that, then just tweaked the vcore until i got it where i needed it.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 11:47 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: OCing the Q6600

Isn't it bad to just start trying random settings? I heard you can destroy your hardware that way.

Edit: I'm in my BIOS right now and am looking at my DDR2 Voltage... the specs for my RAM say that they're supposed to run at 2.2v Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
but they're running at 1.8v. Should I manually change that or leave it as is?
Mordred is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 11:53 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OCing the Q6600

Meh, these new chips are almost impossible to kill if you do your research and have even half a clue what you are doing.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 12:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: OCing the Q6600

So, so far I have tried 1333 FSB at 1.2375 and 1.2475, but the first was too low to even try to boot to windows, the second hung up on the windows loading screen...I guess I'll go one higher

Tried 1333 FSB at 1.2675, still hung on windows loading screen...

The specs for the q6600 say it can handle up to 1.5v, Should I just try to run it at like 1.3575 and see what happens? Then if it's stable bring it down?
Mordred is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 12:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OCing the Q6600

Depends on what cooler you are using. I run at 1.4V and have has as much as 1.55v without cooling troubles, but i use a lapped TRUE-120
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 12:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: OCing the Q6600

I still don't know what lapped is...but I'm running a tuniq tower.
Mordred is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 01:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: OCing the Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mordred View Post
I still don't know what lapped is
lol, its where u sand down your cpu heatspreader, and your hsf to where its all copper
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 01:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: OCing the Q6600

Correct me if I'm wrong....won't that make the surface uneven and actually hurt heat distribution?
Mordred is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 01:12 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OCing the Q6600

Actually quite the opposite. Most heatsinks and cpu's are NOT flat, thus the reason you have to use thermal interface material. When you sand the cpu's heatshield and the base of the heatsink, you essentiall make them both very flat and get much better contact. My temps came down around 14C on the outer cores and 5C on the inner cores when i lapped my stuff. Now whenever i remove my heatsink the center of the cpu barely has any TIM on it at all due to it making such good contact.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q6600 OC'ing HELP!!! <[MaTT]> Overclocking and Modding 4 12-17-2007 09:07 AM
Help with ocing q6600 csaefong Overclocking and Modding 7 12-08-2007 01:29 AM
OCing Q6600 <[MaTT]> Overclocking and Modding 3 11-28-2007 12:25 AM
Help me choose a decent oc'ing mobo for a q6600 R1C0CH3T New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-04-2007 02:31 PM
OCing Q6600 with stock heatsink? dave39 Overclocking and Modding 11 09-10-2007 09:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.