Ocing probs.. Biostar i45 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2009, 11:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default

[Quote]"there is no going in unlinked mode and easily overclocking it"

You just reminded me of that.. thats what I used on the 780i to get 3.5GHz stable..

You saying this board doesn't support unlinked mode?? Jeeeeze.. I wonder why..

Multi: 13x
FSB: 270
CPU: 3510GHz

Booted into windows.. stable so far.. (probably will get a blue screen after a while)

Is the CPU Voltage too high? Can I run it at 1.52V all the time if Intel says the max is 1.4V? When I try to change it in the BIOS all that shows up is 1.6V and default.. ?? all of the lower choices that were once there have vanished..

If I got a Q9550.. I wonder how it would be to overclock it..

Currently running 2x 'GO SP2004' as a stress test.. I don't wanna jinx anything.. but it's working fine at 3.5GHz so far..

System seems to be stable.. now as long as I don't get that black checkered screen again everything is fine.. this CPU is hard to OC.. and it doesn't go far.. 3.5GHz is probably the highest I will ever get out of it..

Now at 3.470GHz.. My screen all of the sudden got those black rectangles all over.. i am going to install a new display driver.. although I think I have the latest.. I went back to 266FSB.. if it happens again.. then that will rule out the GPU..

__________________

StealthTools is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 02:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Ocing probs.. Biostar i45

Quote:
Originally Posted by StealthTools View Post

You just reminded me of that.. thats what I used on the 780i to get 3.5GHz stable..

You saying this board doesn't support unlinked mode?? Jeeeeze.. I wonder why..
Nvidia chipsets are the only ones with unlinked mode. Just watch you ram speed and adjust the fsb:ram ratio to keep your ram at stock speed or lower for the time being. Once you get your cpu oc stable at the clock you want you can work on overcloking the ram.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 04:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Ocing probs.. Biostar i45

I have the same mobo and there is settings to adjust the vcore little by little. From what I have been told the max for intel is 1.5v, going over that will fry it quick. You shouldn't be that high from what I have been told.
Chad711 is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 04:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Ocing probs.. Biostar i45

see. here's the kicker. you don't need to oc your ram... leave your fsb alone and your ram will stay the same.................. if you just up the multi then you're fine. and a higher fsb doesn't really do much in terms of speed..
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 03:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: Ocing probs.. Biostar i45

Q9550 upgrade from a QX6700... Q9550 doesn't have an unlocked multiplier.. but.. if I did change the FSB to overclock it would it be easier than it is with the QX6700? I mean I can hardly move the FSB for some reason.. The computer just won't let me boot up if I do. The 780i seemed to give me more FSB room.. it's probably though that I am not used to this board and I need to learn all of its settings...
StealthTools is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 05:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Ocing probs.. Biostar i45

the QX6700 was a pretty sorry excuse for an extreme chip (the Q6700 OCed alot better than it)... but yes, you will be able to get much better FSB OCs with a yorkie... plus, the streamlined instructions will give you better clock for clock performance, so even if you cant manage to hit the same clocks (which you really should be able to), you should get similar performance
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 10:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Ocing probs.. Biostar i45

its your ram multiplier dude. that and auto voltage = no bueno.
its very simple...90% of the time BSOD = RAM
the other 10% of the time you are on your own.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Biostar I45 Bios settings for PATA/SATA James_78 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 01-06-2009 12:04 AM
I have a Biostar I45 how do I RUN RAID0? orion233 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 12-15-2008 09:36 PM
Biostar I45 - unable to O.C. bigjared Overclocking and Modding 45 12-12-2008 07:27 PM
Just got my Biostar I45 Squirtis Overclocking and Modding 4 11-17-2008 12:42 AM
new rig, biostar i45, no post. Akubane Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 10-03-2008 02:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.