Ocing probs.. Biostar i45 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2009, 10:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Ocing probs.. Biostar i45

Proc: qx6700

I installed the Biostar TPower i45 the other night and tried to overclock it. I got to 3.5GHz and the computer gave me a blue screen once in windows.. not under any real load.

STOP: 0x0000007F (00....8, 0X00.....800500031, 0X0000....6F8, 0X00....6E627EC8)

CPU: 3.5GHz
Multiplier: 11x
FSB: 318

CoreTM: disabled
C1E: disabled
Intel Speedstep: disabled

On my 780i 3.5GHz was a breeze.. stable two.. I could get up to 3.7GHz for a little while.. and on the Biostar I just cant overclock this thing at all..

I tried it at 3.0GHz
Multiplier: 11x
FSB: 272

and still blue screen...

Sometimes My computer will just freeze up and I see black blocks all over my screen.. and I have to power it off.. I am thinking that this might be because the graphics card is overclocked too high via the FSB.. but how?? 9800GTX+ at just 272FSB gives me the black blocked screen? It didn't on the 780i..

Ram timings auto.. ram type: 4GB DDR2 1100 PC2 8800 OCZ @ 5-5-5-15 2T/Auto

All of my voltages were set to Auto.

Heat is no issue at all.. I am water cooled..
__________________

StealthTools is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Ocing probs.. Biostar i45

try giving it a little more voltage, like 1.35v on the cpu
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 10:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: Ocing probs.. Biostar i45

ok 1.35v on CPU.. trying for 3.5 again..

I set the FSB to 291
Multi to 12x
CPU = 3497GHz

CPU VID: 1.5V! - When I went into the CPU section to change my voltage the lowest voltage was 1.5V.. then above that it said "default" and went down to 1.6V..(maybe more than 1.6V but doubt it)

Stable so far in windows...

CPU temp is 91.4F - 32C
StealthTools is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 10:53 PM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Ocing probs.. Biostar i45

Don't try 3.5 right away. Start with a lower setting. Start with 10x295FSB. The QX6700 isn't too great an overclocker as I only ever got mine to 3.28GHz on watercooling.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 10:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Ocing probs.. Biostar i45

hmm something is not right, 1.5 should not be your vid. intel says not to go any higher than 1.4v or something like that. you got the latest bios?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 10:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: Ocing probs.. Biostar i45

I ran the BIOS update thing on the software that came on the disk.. (the one with the Robot...)
I think it says the BIOS is 2008.. checking website to see..

BIOSTAR

Date: 7/10/08 - what is the TPower II under it? It has a newer date.. but my Motherboard is just a TPower? I guess I'll install the TPower II BIOS.. and check for a version in the BIOS..

StealthTools is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 11:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Ocing probs.. Biostar i45

look for a revison number like: f3 is the latest bios revision for my board.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 11:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Ocing probs.. Biostar i45

with a qx you don't touch the fsb and just increase the multi... so there's your first issue, secondly don't leave your voltages on auto. that's a rookie mistake. put them on actual numbers and increase if necessary.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 11:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: Ocing probs.. Biostar i45

Increasing the FSB gives faster response time? which is what I want.. the speed... but.. you means i should like put the multi at 15x? that seems really high.. will the CPU not work at a specific multi? I know it isnt really unlimited.. lol

but as for the voltages.. this motherboard confuses me some.. soo many different voltages and such.. so i left auto.. I guess all i'd have to touch is the CPU voltage though if I just increase the multi..

BIOS seems to be at latest version..
StealthTools is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 11:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Ocing probs.. Biostar i45

also rember your ram and fsb are linked now, there is no going in unlinked mode and easily overclocking it. that was one of my first noob mistakes i made when i got my new board.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Biostar I45 Bios settings for PATA/SATA James_78 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 01-06-2009 12:04 AM
I have a Biostar I45 how do I RUN RAID0? orion233 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 12-15-2008 09:36 PM
Biostar I45 - unable to O.C. bigjared Overclocking and Modding 45 12-12-2008 07:27 PM
Just got my Biostar I45 Squirtis Overclocking and Modding 4 11-17-2008 12:42 AM
new rig, biostar i45, no post. Akubane Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 10-03-2008 02:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.