OCing Prescott - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2004, 10:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default OCing Prescott

I have a Pentium 4 520. I have it oced at 3.094 GHz. How do I know if it is stable? Is there a utility?
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

what is the stock speed and yes ther is but i forgot what it was called.
__________________

Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 01:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

use prime95.. run the torture tests... they say that if it runs about 9 hours or somethign without an error then it is stable... ask nubius about that.. but heres the link:

http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft.htm
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 01:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah the readme file for prime95 says generally if it gets past 6 hours it's completely stable as you'll never do anything as taxing as what prime95 does to your system, but I suggest you leave it on over night to see if you can atleast go above 10 if not preferably 12+ hours...

Run the Large in place FFT's, the 2nd option to click under torture test.
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 03:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

and make sure you have adequate cooling, prescotts run hot
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 07:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

I boot up my computer today and it was at 3.094 ghz. I had to bring it down to 2.856 for it to boot up. The voltage was at 1.4125. Is it safe to bring up the voltage.
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 08:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

i run sisoftsandra "burn-in-mode" for a couple hours

then i go with super_pi to make sure it's stable

you can run memtest86 to make sure your RAM is in spec (if you overclocked it)

CPUBench2003 is good for testing, also has a "burn-in-mode" i believe. if not just loop it and it works the same way.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.