OCing my 8800GTS 512 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2008, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
almightyobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 241
Default OCing my 8800GTS 512

Ok, so I am going to start overclocking my 8800GTS 512 (G92) and I just had a few questions

I plan on using Rivatuner to oc it, should I only go up a few mhz on each core at a time? or is it safe to go up by alot? how much should i increase it by?

How can I test if it is stable? does it matter as long as long as he heat is low?

Ive heard of ATI tool messing up on the 512 G92s, whats wrong w/ it?

Has anyone oc'd this card before? What numbers should I be shooting for?
__________________

__________________

MB - DFI LP DK P35-T2RS
CPU - Q6600 @ 3.0 atm
HSF - Lapped TRUE + Scythe
RAM - 2x 1G Ballisitx Tracers
GPU - EVGA 9800 GTX
HD - 500G Barracuda + 320G Ext
PSU - PC P&C Silencer 610
OS - Windows XP 32-bit SP2 OEM
Case - Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Monitor - Hanns-G 19" Widescreen LCD
Headset - Sennheiser PC151
3DMark06 - 14186 (3.0 / stock gpu)

You must try some of my purple berries...
almightyobo is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 09:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: OCing my 8800GTS 512

I did 10mhz increments. Theres an ati beta
Download ATITool 0.27 Beta 4 - Free overclocking utility designed for ATI video cards - Softpedia
You can use the artifact scanner on it. Krazyq told me not to go above 1000mhz on memory and as I was surfing around other forums I noticed everyone at it kept around 996-999mhz. My settings are in my sig. I stopped at 802 just because I haven't had time to fiddle with it. I'm sure it can go alittle higher. Also use games to check for stability. I would play a couple of hours of crysis and cod4 to see if there was any discoloration or if it hangs.
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 10:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
almightyobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 241
Default Re: OCing my 8800GTS 512

how long am I suppose to let the artifact scanner go for?

and wasnt someone on here saying that the GTS 512s were having some issues w/ ATItool?


also should I play for a while between each increment? Also should I alternate or can i do like 15 of core and mem at the same time
__________________

MB - DFI LP DK P35-T2RS
CPU - Q6600 @ 3.0 atm
HSF - Lapped TRUE + Scythe
RAM - 2x 1G Ballisitx Tracers
GPU - EVGA 9800 GTX
HD - 500G Barracuda + 320G Ext
PSU - PC P&C Silencer 610
OS - Windows XP 32-bit SP2 OEM
Case - Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Monitor - Hanns-G 19" Widescreen LCD
Headset - Sennheiser PC151
3DMark06 - 14186 (3.0 / stock gpu)

You must try some of my purple berries...
almightyobo is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 11:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: OCing my 8800GTS 512

well when u do the artifact scanning...do it for about 15-30 mins...make sure temps dont get into the 80s.
and go up like 5-10 incrememnnts at a time and then test.
I cant get ati stable over like 760 core...but i benchmark fine around 785.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 12:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: OCing my 8800GTS 512

Quote:
Originally Posted by almightyobo View Post
wasnt someone on here saying that the GTS 512s were having some issues w/ ATItool?
Yes, but that was ati tool v26 this is v27 beta. I tried it already.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 12:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OCing my 8800GTS 512

FYI...the memory issue above 1k is for the GT. It is specific to those due to the craptacular qmodo memory. You should probably be able to shoot straight to 750 core and 1000memory without any issues.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 12:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: OCing my 8800GTS 512

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
FYI...the memory issue above 1k is for the GT. It is specific to those due to the craptacular qmodo memory. You should probably be able to shoot straight to 750 core and 1000memory without any issues.
well from my readings from tf...i herd that the gts is is lik the gt and has the same prob with getting the mem over 1k.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 01:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: OCing my 8800GTS 512

i hate to ask it here but do u think they use the same memory on the 640MB GTS's? i run my EVGA at 700/1000 pretty much 24/7
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 01:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: OCing my 8800GTS 512

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
FYI...the memory issue above 1k is for the GT. It is specific to those due to the craptacular qmodo memory. You should probably be able to shoot straight to 750 core and 1000memory without any issues.
Doesn't the 8800gts 512 use qimonda?

edit:
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 01:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: OCing my 8800GTS 512

thats what my assumption was ....and thats why ppl said dont clock the mem over 1k.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
8800GTS 640 vs 8800GTS 512 jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 12 03-23-2008 02:01 PM
OCing the 8800GTS 512 (G92) almightyobo Overclocking and Modding 12 03-11-2008 11:09 PM
My 8800GTS 512 Poemaster Overclocking and Modding 1 01-11-2008 08:53 PM
More GeForce 8800GTS 512 Info Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 11-27-2007 11:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.