OCing my 6800GS AGP - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2006, 06:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

The problem w/ that is is you dont want to keep changing the clock speeds. That will lower the lifetime of your GPU.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 12:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

PP what do you mean? Are you suggesting that its better to set the clock speeds the same for all 3 modes? I think jusing having the OCs on for 3d will give my card a longer life, if not please explain why.
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 01:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

i think pp was talking to Theyoyokid303 and powerstrip
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 01:17 AM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

No if you change the clock all the time on anything it decreases lifetime. Dont take me wrong though its so little that even i dont mess w/ anything but the 3d performance tab. Just the same w/ OCing anything decreases lifetime but its so little that when it dies it will be way outdated.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:38 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

iam getting 541/1.23 iam pretty sure, mines pci-e though
__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 03:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

The PCI-E cards can clock alot higher than the AGP. Is this the same way w/ the GTs as well?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.