oc'ing an msi mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2010, 03:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default oc'ing an msi mobo

iv got an MSI P43 Neo3-F mobo and am pretty happy with it. No real problems except I cant figure out how to change the multiplier in the BIOS. There is absolutely no option to do so. My CPU is oc capable and ready, and I have even located the fsb adjustment, but as far as the multi goes, i cant find it.

Anyone have experience with this mobo and can help me out?

Thanks in advance
__________________

alanj is offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 05:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: oc'ing an msi mobo

Your CPU has a locked multiplier. You overclock it by increasing the CPU FSB Frequency
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 05:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: oc'ing an msi mobo

that or because the P43 chipset is usually more limited than their big brother P45
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 10:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: oc'ing an msi mobo

Im pretty sure my cpu isnt locked as iv read many cases where it has been easily oc'd, its the Intel E3200.
And even in a previous post I had on this forum its possible to oc, but I think the main thing is the mobo. Thats why Iw as checking to see if anyone had this particular model and knew how to do it.

Heres my previous post that says the E3200 can be oc'd:
upgrading computer/first build
alanj is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 08:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: oc'ing an msi mobo

Yes, your E3200 can be overclocked. However, you don't overclock your particular cpu by raising the Multiplier. You overclock it by increasing the CPU FSB Frequency.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo bios locked from OC'ing? IF06 System Upgrades 3 12-29-2008 09:59 AM
I think I cooked my cpu and mobo jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-03-2008 09:18 PM
window on both side's and see through mobo tray ste2425 Overclocking and Modding 7 08-04-2008 06:52 PM
Ocing mobo choices? Kharn Overclocking and Modding 7 04-05-2008 05:20 PM
Buying a mobo, CPU and RAM for ocing thenovices New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-14-2007 01:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.