OC'ing Mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2009, 01:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default OC'ing Mobo

I think I'm gonna go for AMD for my next build, it's either the prospect of a PII quad core or an i7 and I don't want to have to buy new ram on top of an already high priced proc and mobo. I'm gonna go with this chip
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
I figured it isn't worth the price of a 960 if I'm just going to OC it and I won't get much more head room out of it. As far as boards go, I'm a little stuck. I'm down to 4 boards, and need some advice.

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TFORCE TA790GX 128M AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
Newegg.com - ASUS M4A78-E AM2+/AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
Newegg.com - ASUS M4A79 Deluxe AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

From what I've seen the M4A79 has the highest clocks achievable out of the 4, and I don't really need to worry about a super high FSB obviously, I'm just worried more in terms of voltage options. My last couple boards have been fine on the FSB side but just dropped the ball on voltage options.

So if anybody can offer more insight onto which board I should end up getting mucho appreciato.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 01:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: OC'ing Mobo

I have the GXE version of the TA790, I haven't overclocked it though, sorry I can't help you there. I've been wondering how it would hold up though.
__________________

__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 01:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: OC'ing Mobo

The TA790GX held the WR for the PII x3 720 for a while when it came out, but I would think there have been better boards made for overclocking these chips since then. I have it now but I'm not sure whether it's a temperature problem (~30c??) or the mobo for me not being able to get a really nice OC out of my chip. Hikari has the same mobo and got great clocks on his 720, he might be able to give you some insight on the board.
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 03:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: OC'ing Mobo

Check the MSI GD-70 mobo.. Supposed to be THE top amd AM3 board.

I've been droolin over that one for a while..

Hmm.. price came down.. Was $190/$200 for awhile..
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...30223&Tpk=GD-7
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 03:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: OC'ing Mobo

Nice board but AM3 defeats the purpose of reusing his ddr2 ram.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 06:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: OC'ing Mobo

yeah if i could reuse my ddr2 that would be optimal, got a real nice pair of OCZ Reapers that I love.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 08:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: OC'ing Mobo

doesn't apok have that gigabyte board?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 08:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: OC'ing Mobo

I've heard really good things about the gigabyte board, and I like gigabyte boards, I loved my old ds3r I got from b1gapl. Thing was a champ, put 2v through a celeron d 430 But from what I've heard the 790FX chipset is for more high performance over the 790GX or the 790X. So I'm just wondering if either of the Asus boards would give better OC'ing control than the Gigabyte.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 10:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: OC'ing Mobo

And yes ^ the 790FX NB is the top dawg..

790fx
790gx
790x
770

Gigabyte MA790gx-UD4H is supposed to be a good board.. Next-up beter-ized updated good-er model to my board I'm running now.. Hope you like resetting the CMOS a lot.. LOL.. EVERY DARN TIME it doesn't like something, I gotta reset it.. I got tired of OCing after a while.. Took a crack at it again last night and it didn't like the increase so it didn't want to POST after.. I just shut it off, unplugged it and haven't touched it since.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-384-_-Product


Well, your UD4P board looks good, that one's got my vote.. I'm done with Asus for a while.. This board is strangely faster than my other M4A78 Pro I was running.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
Nice board but AM3 defeats the purpose of reusing his ddr2 ram.
Bah.. I didn't read that.. I saw that he was getting a 955 CPU, so I thought he was getting an AM3 board.
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new mobo Squirtis New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-14-2008 02:24 PM
Mobo install is a nightmare so far...help? Chad711 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 11-05-2008 12:44 AM
Mobo install is a nightmare so far...help? Chad711 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 11-04-2008 02:37 PM
Ocing mobo choices? Kharn Overclocking and Modding 7 04-05-2008 05:20 PM
quick power/reset/ mobo conection question jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-19-2007 07:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.