OCing Issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2006, 06:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default OCing Issue

In another post i mentioned that i get an error with Stress Prime 2004 when i go above 2.73ghz.

I am now running at 2.80ghz and i get the same error but now it seems to be stable and not restarting. With this error, will i cause damage if i run at these speeds 24/7


Is there another program i could use to stress the cpu and have it report errors?


__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 06:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

if it gets an error at 6 seconds then it's really not stable. You may not damage anything but you will probably crash in a lot of games and your puter will be.....well...UNSTABLE
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 06:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Don't run it any higher than your highest stable speeds. It can screw up your PC if it isn't stable.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 10:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

isnt the voltage suspose to be able to get to 1.45v
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 11:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

with my 3500 on stock cooling I am having problems at anything above 2.7 =ghz
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 01:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

I have ran many test (3dmark03, NfsMw, NfsU2, Air Conflicts and Flatout 2) and it seems to be stable at these speeds... could it still cause damage?

Also is there any other programs to test stability of the cpu? i cant use any of the newer ones like 3dmark05 because of my crap vid card.
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 02:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AMDSCOrPiO
Also is there any other programs to test stability of the cpu? i cant use any of the newer ones like 3dmark05 because of my crap vid card.
umm...SuperPI!!!!??? And it says it's unstable!
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 07:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Prime95 tests CPU, RAM, and power, which are all critical to over-clocking.

Instability can cause data corruption on your HDD.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 07:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

Your pc may seem stable and all the other tests apart from sp04 may say your PC is stable, but sp04 and prime95 tests the cpu in depthly so listening to those 2 programs is wise, you've got like a 25% performance increase with your CPU already, that TBH is very good and is more than enough. [Some people can't even get a 5 % performance increase]
Willeh is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 08:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

How do you have a 13x multiplyer with a AMD 3500+?
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.