OCing Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2005, 08:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 63
Default OCing Help

Ok i was experimenting ocing with one of my old machines. Its a intel 2.4 ghz i was able to get it to 2.7 with no troubles but after i raised the bus just 10mhz more it wont boot up. Any help on what to do? i dont think the chip is fried =/
__________________

Tenken is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 11:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Reset the bios. Jumper setting?
__________________

__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 12:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 25
Default

Lower the bus 10mhz???
Jeff is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 12:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 63
Default

well it doesnt boot so i cant get into the bios to do that but i guess jumper idea.
Tenken is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Clear the cmos. If you want to continue O/Cing after that raise the VCORE and try again.

Drworm2005.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 63
Default

the cpu jumpers right? ive never actually done this heh..
Tenken is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to Nissanspecv04
Default

remove the cmos battery from the mobo for about 10 to 15 seconds, that will reset the bios for you. Then you have to change you clock settings like time and date in your bios. Unless you have a newer mobo that has a cmos reset button on it which you just push while the computer is off and it resets it for you.
Nissanspecv04 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 02:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

What type of motherboard is it.

Drworm2005.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 03:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 63
Default

bah ill have to look up the model but its a Gigabyte. Ill try the battery thing though nissan
Tenken is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 07:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 63
Default

Ok i did the battery thing it works fine now thanks.
__________________

Tenken is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.